Creative musings in bright colors

Fireflies

This nail art for Day 23 (Music) was inspired by the Owl City song Fireflies (one of my favorite songs just for the sounds…I love how they use instruments).

IMG_3305

All of my memories of fireflies (since living in a city for a few years I haven’t seen any recently) are when dusk falls, against the backdrop of trees. So, I created a light green to dark green gradient, and added my fireflies over them!

IMG_2150

My thumb and accent nail are intended to be disco balls, from the song lyrics “a disco ball is just hanging by a thread”. My sister thinks they look like I added enamel to my nails, like inlaying it into a tabletop! I might have to try and make that look intentional.

IMG_3294

I love the holographic quality of my golden top coat, but I really struggled to get the holographic diamonds out! Its odd, my friend had the polish and her diamond glitters came out easily. My polish is much more fluid than hers, but I really had to dig (even after placing the bottle upside down for a few minutes before using it).

IMG_3301

Colors

  • Light green: Essie – The More The Merrier
  • Dark green: Sinful Colors – Last Chance
  • Gold glitter: Sephora by OPI – I Found a Pot of Gold
  • Brown: Maybelline – Downtown Brown

IMG_3304

Honestly, this mani didn’t end up looking like fireflies or disco balls, but I still think it looked cool!

Comments on: "Fireflies" (10)

  1. This is very pretty, I think the green gradient fits very well. I’ve only ever seen fireflies in complete darkness, but I live in a city as well so I don’t see them very often.

  2. This looks sooooo good! 🙂 I love what you’ve done! 🙂

  3. I absolutely adore the green gradient on this one. Great job! 🙂

  4. Love the light to dark green ombre! I am def going to try that sometime!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

