Creative musings in bright colors

Delicate Dots

Today is Tutorial Day in the OMD challenge. My mani is directly based off another nail blogger’s manicure…although I don’t think she created a tutorial for it. None was needed. This is a simple mani, but it took FOREVER.

IMG_3461

This is based off the fashion-inspired nails at The Nailasaurus. I have been intrigued by these nails for months, and finally decided to try them! Two things: (1) placing >100 tiny beads takes more time than you think (2) use a base coat that dries fast!

IMG_3457

My base here was Seche Couture, which was sent to me by the lovely Jacqui! This polish is a very thin white with a subtle shimmer. It looks beautiful in the bottle but took FOUR coats (yes, 4) to be opaque. I don’t know if it is intended as a layering polish or a jelly, but either way I was disappointed! I might try to pretend its a simple jelly from now on (that would make it my first jelly) and use it in sandwiches and stuff.

IMG_3463

It was also my first Seche polish (I don’t even own Seche Vite), and I must say I was disappointed! Then again, it just might not have been intended to be opaque on its own. It was released as part of a french manicure set…so I just can’t tell!

IMG_3467

I liked how this mani came out, but it got ruined almost immediately. The Seche polish took a very long time to dry due to how many layers I used, and so whenever the beads hit anything they pulled on the polish. Not to mention, the beads (once light pink and shimmery) bled into the white, leaving the beads silver but with a pretty pink ring around them after I added top coat! I didn’t mind that (it looks cool) but between that and all the pulling out of shape, I took this mani off in 24 hours.

IMG_3470

I think I’d like to try this again, but I need to find a more opaque polish and beads that don’t bleed!

Comments on: "Delicate Dots" (6)

  1. Gosh, I love this look, it’s too bad you had such a hard time with it!!

  2. This is very pretty!

  3. you put these beads so nicely and neatly spaced on, great job. love your details

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

