Creative musings in bright colors

Sunlight on Water

This is the second (and third/fourth/fifth) of my new Nabi Holographic polishes! Based on a design I saw at Vic and her Nails, I wanted to try my hand at a SIDEWAYS gradient! Her’s were much more delineated, and thus you can see the gradient a bit better. But…mine are holographic!

IMG_2378

The base coat is Petite Teal (a very light blue/teal) that has a wonderful holographic flair. This is 2 coats.

IMG_3830

I then taped off the tips and applied a gradient using three of the other blue-to-teal colors in the collection: Teal, Ocean Blue, and Navy Blue. The tips of each finger were then painted with the appropriate ombre color as well!

IMG_3836

Finally, I stamped with BM-210 on the tips. This was not the design I wanted to use, but my plate 212 won’t stamp!!! I’m really upset…if you’ve been following my blog you KNOW how much I love peacocks!

IMG_2386

Anyway. The lighter the polish in these collections, the more holographic it appears (although there are some exceptions…stay tuned). I really like the color and depth in the darker blues, but they can’t compare to the rainbowness!

IMG_2380

Colors

  • Light blue holo: Nabi – Petite Teal
  • Medium teal holo: Nabi – Teal
  • Blue holo: Nabi – Ocean Blue
  • Dark blue holo: Nabi – Navy Blue
  • Stamp: Bundle Monster – 210

IMG_3858

So, what do you think? I don’t know if I like this or not, but it was shiny!

IMG_2381

Comments on: "Sunlight on Water" (14)

  1. I love this, gorgeous colour combinations and I love the sideways gradient 🙂

  2. This is gorgeous and sooo shiny :). Awesome idea ❤

  3. So pretty! Love the polishes and the mani 😀

  4. This is stunning !

  5. these are bas ass!!! 🙂

  6. Those are SERIOUSLY cool

  7. goldensnidget92 said:

    Oh my gosh, I’m in love with these!!
    Also, if you feel like joining the “Would You Rather” tag, it’s a fun time-waster for nail fanatics 🙂
    http://heartnailart.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=318&action=edit&message=6&postpost=v2

    • hahah! cute! While I appreciate the tag, I’m going to have to decline (both because i want to keep my blog polish-only, and because i honestly don’t wear any makeup unless I’m forced to!)

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

