Creative musings in bright colors

Swirls on the Diagonal

My sister’s friend presented me with a challenge: she wanted pink and white, suitable for work, with striping tape. She liked the idea of a diagonal mani, and I put together how it would work! This also gave me the chance to use one of my new favorite stamps, BM-201.

This mani started with a white base, followed by stamping in coral and then adding a coral diagonal. I cleaned up the (not exactly straight) line by adding striping tape over it, and then finished with top coat.

IMG_1728

Unfortunately, this mani did not last terribly long, as my sister’s friend joined us for crab dinner and scraped off quite a bit of polish when trying to pry open crab legs! C’est la vie. At least I got photos :-p

IMG_1724

Colors
White: Julie G – White Orchid
Coral: L’Oreal – Orange You Jealous?
Stamp: Bundle Monster – 201

IMG_1731

I don’t know if this counts at 100% work-appropriate (working in lab means I can wear whatever I want on my nails!) but it is pink and white, and at least cute and not terribly glittery!

Comments on: "Swirls on the Diagonal" (5)

  1. It’s lovely. I can pretty much wear anything on my nails also, as long as it doesn’t start disturbing (3D and length) me in lab work or on the field 😀 So it’s definitely work appropriate!

    • hahahah! Me too, its the wonder of being a graduate student. I do feel bad though when friends as me to do their nails with the constraints “work friendly.” I have too many bright happy colors for traditional work friendly manicures!

  2. Hey, I really love your blog and so I’ve nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award!
    Click the link below to check it out and accept your award 🙂
    http://milliemuppet.wordpress.com/2013/08/16/the-versatile-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

