Creative musings in bright colors

Snake

This is, hands down, the most expensive mani (polish-wise) that I have ever done. The base colors (Viper and Nouveau Riche) are $20 each, and I have a butterLONDON ($15) as well as Revlon, Sinful Colors, Maybelline, City Color, and Julie G on here as well (although those are more affordable).

IMG_3883

The main base is Nouveau Riche, which only took two coats. I am not looking forward to removing this polish, but WOW does it sparkle! As I mentioned before, it looks like the offspring of Zoya Faye and butterLONDON Scuppered. Its a complicated mix of glitter, with gold predominating but pink and maybe hints of purple and green mixed in. The accent nail and thumb have two easy coats of Viper, a dark dark green with a bright green sparkle scattered throughout. Love.

IMG_1747

I then stamped using BM-215 to create the snakeskin pattern. I foresee using this pattern a lot with different colors…it was one of the reasons I wanted this stamping set so badly!

IMG_2416

Finally, I hand-painted a snake face and tail on my accent nails. Unfortunately, I had to abandon my sister’s polish as I returned to my apartment for an evening (oh beach, how I miss thee), and so the snake and tail are made of a combination of golds that I own…namely Scuppered and Bold Gold.

IMG_3885

Overall, I am really pleased with how this turned out! I had a hard time deciding what to do…initially I wanted to add snake eyes as the accent, but I thought it would just be creepy. I maintain that opinion!!

IMG_3877

Colors

  • Gold glitter: Estee Lauder – Nouveau Riche
  • Gold glitter: butterLONDON – Scuppered
  • Gold: Maybelline – Bold Gold
  • Green glitter: Estee Lauder – Viper
  • Green: Sinful Colors – Last Chance
  • Yellow: Revlon – Electric
  • Black: Julie G – Black Sheep
  • Red: City Color – Red

Hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Snake" (7)

  1. This looks amazing ❤

  2. Hi! I love these nails, super creative. I am a big fan of your blog, so I nominated you for an award called the Liebster Award! 🙂 Please go to my blog for details! makeupcrazy1.wordpress.com

  3. ANITA of mydailynaildesigns said:

    Awesome

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

