Creative musings in bright colors

A few weeks ago, I was asked to do a review for OMGNailStrips.com, of a nail strip of my choosing. They have many to choose from, but I settled on one with water droplets!

IMG_2466

I have to say, I am impressed with these! Application took <10 minutes, and they lasted without chipping for 3 days (the 4th day I went to hershey park, so that isn’t fair), and they were super easy to use! I have never used nail polish strips or stickers in the past. I am usually a polish purist…but I decided to try these.

Application was easy. They have a really clear video that I simply followed. I had to trim two of the strips to fit my (apparently very narrow) nails. The smallest strip fit my ring finger, so I trimmed one for my pinky and one for my pointer. I placed and replaced the one on my ring finger 4 times (yes, four) before deciding that I liked the placement. IT WAS STILL STICKY! I was amazed.

IMG_2464

The key seemed to be placing at the cuticle line, and pressing straight up the finger. Only then (and when it is positioned right, which took between 1 and 4 tries per nail) press out towards the lateral sides of your nail. Don’t try to stretch the sticker, just press it down. Even on my super-curvy and funny shaped pointer finger, there were no wrinkles with this polish strip!

IMG_3949

I have gotten more comments on my nails these past few days than I have in a while. Everyone wants to know if they are stickers and where I got them! I am really pleased with how well these worked, and am debating buying a few others (or some of their nail foils…I’ve never tried foils either, but now I trust this company!).

Steps:

  1. Find the polish strip that fits your nail best, or trim one to fit (seriously, do this before you remove the sticker backing. I had to clip one with a nail clipper when I realized it was too big after placing it on my nail, and it looked funny!). Cut that strip from the others.
  2. Peel off the shiny plastic coating on the front of the sticker
  3. Remove the sticker from the white back
  4. Place sticker on clean nail surface (no base coat needed, but make sure your cuticles are out of the way!)
  5. Press down on sticker from the base of your nail to the tip, then out towards the lateral edge of your nails. If you need to reposition the strips, do them before pressing all the way down! (Although, I did press all the way down and remove just to see what would happen. The sticker deformed a tiny bit as it stretched, but was fine!) Once you like the position, press down hard!
  6. File away the excess strip using a nail file horizontal to your nail. I tried to explain it with this photo, but really watch their video. The woman does a grew job explaining! (I have been using a cheap $1 file from Rite Aid for the last 6 months, and even I was able to file away the excess. So it isn’t hard)
  7. Dip a q-tip in polish remover, and gently wipe down the strip. This makes it ‘melt’ a little, and stick better to the nail. Wait for the strip to re-harden (5 minutes?) and add top coat.
  8. Admire your new and quick manicure!

IMG_3935
Included in the package are 14 nail strips (7 for each hand, so the sizes work), and that’s it! The package is not sealed (there is a small breathing hole) and so you know off the bat that you don’t have to worry about the strips drying out. I waited almost two weeks between opening them to admire them, and actually using them. They worked great!

There is a promotion going on right now: get 4 sets for $20 (saves around $5), each set costs $6.89. They also hold a giveaway every month on their Facebook page! Be sure to check them out:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OmgNailStrips
Website: http://www.omgnailstrips.com/nail-polish-strips
Application Video: http://www.omgnailstrips.com/nail-polish-strip-application-instructions

**Nail polish strips were provided free of cost. All thoughts and recommendations are my own**

Comments on: "Water Droplets (OMG Nail Strips Review)" (3)

  1. Thanks for the tips. I will have to check them out

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

