Creative musings in bright colors

Since the point of challenges is to well, challenge, I thought I would try a new technique today: splatter painting! Wheeeee! I stole some straws from the Au Bon Pain in the building next to my lab, and got to work. There is a bit of a learning curve to this one!

IMG_4184

I started with a grey base, splattered on black, and then white. Unfortunately, for most of my nails the white (which at this point is 2/3 empty and getting rather thick) came out in globs. I fixed this endless white mass by adding some black/white matte glitter…that of course you can only see the black part of. I’m so tricky!

IMG_4189

This is a FUN technique. I’m glad I looked it up a bit first so I knew to lay down some saran wrap, wrap my nails in tape, and take off my rings! Otherwise…messy. Very messy. It STILL got all over my hands! But decidedly fun 🙂

IMG_2601

So what do you think, worth it? I think I need to try with more colors (and thinner polish) next time and see what work of art (or fail) resolves itself.

IMG_2600

Colors

  • White: Julie G – White Orchid
  • Grey: NYC – Sidewalkers
  • Black: Julie G – Black Sheep
  • Glitter: Maybelline – Clearly Spotted

IMG_4186

Check out the other black and white nails for today’s challenge!

Comments on: "Day 7: Black&White (Ker-Splatter!)" (11)

  1. Because of your blog and its versatility, I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Take a look here: http://thisjenngirl.wordpress.com/2013/09/07/versatile-blogger-award/

  2. Absolutely awesome!

  3. Came out great! Splatters are so hard to control and not end up with a blot mess

  4. Your splatters came out great! They are always fun to do and you always get different looks

  5. Love this! Great work =)

  6. Your splatters look so cool! 😀

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

