Creative musings in bright colors

I wanted to try something different for my polka dots today. A while back I saw some really interesting nail art using sharpie! I was skeptical (mostly because there was no smudging) but decided to try it for myself for polka dot day. The original innovation came from PolishArtAddict although I cannot find the image!

IMG_2471

What I found was that the sharpie made pretty and easy dots on the nail polish, but smudged as soon as I added top coat. I tried adding a matte top coat first, and even that smudged. It still looked interesting, but was far less impressive than the original, and there is no way to wear sharpie without topcoat!

IMG_3952

My accent nails, however, came out wonderfully with a white/silver water marble! Unfortunately, my white polish has begun to dry up so I painted the nail white and marbled with silver and a clear shimmer polish.

IMG_3962

Colors

  • White: Julie G – White Orchid
  • Silver (polish): A England – Excalibur

IMG_2472

I don’t know whether I want to try another sharpie-based design, I feel like they ruin too easily! What do you think?

Don’t forget to check out the other polka dot nails for today!

Comments on: "Day 11: Polka (Silver and White- Playing with Sharpie)" (9)

  1. For sharpie nail art I heard to use hair spray to set it so it doesn’t smudge then use your top coat after it dries, I did try it and it works. 🙂

  2. I think it looks cute even with the smudges! Maybe if you had enough patience to dot a bit of topcoat over each sharpie dot and let that dry and then topcoat normally? 😀

    • Oh dear god! Hahaha that might work but it would take FOREVER! The whole point of this for me was to determine if I can do fast dots with sharpie or if I should just stick with polish :-p

  3. I really like the color combinations

  4. MyDailyNailDesigns said:

    lovely manicure

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

