Creative musings in bright colors

Today’s mani is “stripes”, and I’m not sure if I consider this a failure or a success. What started off inspired by a Pinterest pin turned into…something with a life of its own! I present, crossed paths.

IMG_2503

I started by bisecting my nails with two of my untried Nabi 3D colors: Black and Winf (a dark pink/red, and yes I spelled that right).

IMG_3997

I then, as I had seen on pinterest, placed striping tape up my nail and painted over each color with the opposing color. On my accent nail (and thumb) I spaced out the lines differently, leaving wider gaps towards the tip of my nail.

IMG_4024

However, the holo polish dried so quickly that when I lifted the tape, I was left with raised borders! Moreover, the black overtop the red looked much darker than when I was just over my nail. So, I added topcoat to two nails to see what would happen

IMG_4036

The top coated nails were much more vibrant, but the holo quality was completely gone! I couldn’t tell which I liked better, so I kept some fingers without top coat and coated others. Oy.

IMG_4015

Which fingers do you like better? In the sun, I certainly prefer the non-topcoated fingers, but the ones with topcoat looked so much more brighter! Then again, they were almost just shimmer polishes at that point.

IMG_2520

So many difficult choices with colors! But I do like the striping tape idea…maybe I’ll try it again with creme polishes next time :-p. Don’t forget to check out the other manis!

Comments on: "Day 12: Stripes (Crossed Paths)" (6)

  1. I think this looks really cool, but I agree, I’d like to see it with cremes for more definition 🙂

  2. I like this look a lot – the colors are great – my fav is with the glossy top coat

  3. Wow. Just wow! It looks gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

