Creative musings in bright colors

Day 17: Glitter (Stormclouds)

Today is glitter day, although my mani is only mildly glittery. In my foraray though my sister’s polish collection (to of course try polishes I don’t own) I ran into My Big Break by OPI. I hadn’t yet swatched my newest Zoya, so I decided to pair them! In retrospect, a pale blue would have been better than the purple/red of the OPI, but I’m somewhat happy with out this came out, and it is nice and sparkly!

IMG_2421

This is my second experience with a Zoya Pixiedust, and I have to say this one went much better! It turns out letting the polish dry (almost completely) in between thin coats is the key. This is two thin coats of Zoya London, a stormy sky grey with beautiful silver glitter!

IMG_1791

My biggest problem with this mani is my base coat. I have been using OPI Nail Envy for a few months, and its helped my nails a huge amount. However, I am now at the end of the bottle and the polish has become thick and stringy….and BUBBLES. What you see here beneath the purple polish is the bubbling remains of Nail Envy. The purple almost looks textured!

IMG_2419

Thus, I think it might be time to bid Nail Envy (at least this bottle) farewell. I should try and get another bottle, unless one of you lovely ladies who reads this blog has a (cheaper) suggestion!

IMG_1796

Back to the nail art. Since London (the city) is always overcast, I decided to turn my accent nails into textured clouds! I actually really like the idea…but it would have made more sense to do it over blue than purple. Hindsight: 20/20.

IMG_1799

Colors

  • Purple: OPI – My Big Break
  • Grey: Zoya – London

IMG_1795

I really love textured polishes! I don’t love the ridiculous removal, but I love the almost-gritty feel. I hope some more pixiedust polishes go on sale soon!

Don’t forget to check out the other girl’s take on a glitter mani!

Comments on: "Day 17: Glitter (Stormclouds)" (8)

  1. How have I never seen that grey gloriousness before?? I must try Zoya Pixiedusts, my heart is beating harder just looking at this mani 🙂

  2. I’ve seen in several of your entries degraded manicure, and i always find it impossible to end with a good result. So I was wondering if you could help me telling how to do it or giving some tips? Thank you very much 🙂

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

