Creative musings in bright colors

Day 27: Artwork (Chihuly)

Sculpture has always been my favorite type of artwork. And glass has always been my favorite sculpture medium (it helps that I blow glass, but hey). My favorite glass artists is Dale Chihuly (and if you have never seen his works GO LOOK AT THEM THEY ARE AMAZING). While in Seattle for a conference in May, I stopped at the Chihuly glass gardens, and this mani was inspired by his artwork.

IMG_2698

Although he is most famous for brightly colored floral glass art, I chose a stranger piece…something that looked like a glowing striped vine.

IMG_0903

For the nail polish, I started with a deep grey, and painted on glow-in-the-dark vines. I thought the color matched almost exactly!

IMG_4433

I then moved on to adding the black lines, to make them look like the glass sculpture. It didn’t work perfectly, but I’m actually rather pleased with how close they look to the original (even if they aren’t the best idea for nail art).

IMG_4454

What’s more, since my polish was glow in the dark, I had awesome glowing vine nails!

IMG_4456

Oddly, I think the design stood out better indoors:
IMG_4452

…than in sunlight, because the grey turned almost black in the sun!
IMG_2696

Colors

  • Grey: OPI – Black Satin
  • Yellow: Serum No 5 – Dayglow
  • Black: Julie G – Black Sheep

IMG_4466

What do you think, artsy enough? Let’s see what the other ladies have put together for today!

Comments on: "Day 27: Artwork (Chihuly)" (4)

  1. That grey looks green on my monitor!

    Is there a reuse for nail polishes? I’d love a light colored holo, but don’t want to spend $10/bottle.

    • Hah! I don’t know of a reuse for nail polishes…there was some company that let you send in your used ones and would send out other people’s used ones for you to try and then continue the cycle, but I don’t know what happened to them!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

