Creative musings in bright colors

Happy Blogiversary to Me!

This first year has been a mix of highs and lows. I didn’t make it “big” my first year blogging. I don’t regularly receive polish from nail polish makers (indie or mainstream) to demo on my site, and I still have far under 500 followers (I don’t know why, but that was my target). However, in this past year I have found a wonderful community of other women passionate about art, nails, and shiny things. And it has been FUN. And more than that, it has given me a vent for what would otherwise have been a very frustrating first year of graduate school!

A few statistics (I like math…):
# of polishes: 151
# of wordpress followers: 156
# of bloglovin followers: 56
# of facebook followers: 34 (ok, so maybe that’s sad)
# of posts: 234

In honor of this momentous occasion, I’m going to contrast a few of my older and newer designs (I wanted to do something new that was old…but of course with the 31 Day Challenge I just ran out of time!).

My first butterfly attempt:

IMG_0521 copy

vs.

My most recent attempt:

IMG_1899

My first peacock feathers:

IMG_0561 copy

vs.
My favorite nail art ever:

IMG_0930

I will also, FINALLY, be doing two giveaways! The first will start tomorrow and run for two weeks (check back tomorrow for details) and the second will start when the first one ends. My first giveaway will run for two weeks, and will celebrate nail friends. The second one will also run for two weeks, but will be a nail art contest for my followers (because let’s be serious, that is FUN).

So, happy blogiversary to me, feel free to peruse my memory lane, and check back tomorrow for the giveaway post! 😀

Comments on: "Happy Blogiversary to Me!" (26)

  1. Nice post! You’ve piqued my interest for the new stuff coming up!

  2. Hey! happy blogiversary to you dear. I knoe what it means to just have passed a whole year of staying motivated & be blogging away. Cheers to many more creative posts & nice readers!
    Loving the recent butterfly design – it’s prettyyyyyyy!!
    xo

  3. thenailsnail said:

    Congrats on your first blogiversary 🙂 I love your new version of the butterfly nails!

  4. Happy blogiversay! At first I wondered how you have so few followers. Then I realized you might have more than you think. Some could be like me. I have you bookmarked and check you (and the few other nail blogs I have love and have bookmarked) each morning while I watch the news before getting my daughter up. You’re part of my morning ritual. Thanks for sharing all your gorgeous nail art!

  5. Happy blogiversary! You’re doing fantastic nail art!

  6. Congrats! Those manis look awesome! And now you have 35 facebook followers haha 😀

  7. Congrats! I love the before and after pics, what a difference time makes!

  8. Happy Blogaversary! Have you found your nails now grow a different shape? I’ve spotted yours are much longer and more even now than they were a year ago. I’m starting to notice a difference in my own but I’m hopeful they’ll keep improving – contemplating fake nails because mine are so small and pathetic compared to most nail bloggers around!

    • Aww! I actually really dislike super-long nails. I recently had two bad breaks (I stopped using nail envy for about a month. Big mistake) but yes…I currently prefer square-shaped nails and I used to keep them really short and curved at the end! I just think the square ending is more…elegant. Or something. You can do it though! Are you using a good base coat??

      • I never used to shape my nails at all but I’m trying to keep them square these days. At the moment I’m using a base coat I bought for £7 in a supermarket… so good I can’t remember what the brand name is. (Color Sport?) But once I finish the 31 Day Challenge I’ve got Sally Hansen Diamons Strength Base. Think I’ll move onto Nail Enby after that! Does that make a difference to the length?

      • My biggest problem with long nails was that they ALWAYS simply cracked off. My nails peel and split a lot (I don’t know why). So after using some $3 base coat from rite aid that didn’t work well, I switched to nail envy. And somehow my nails split less! That (and starting to moisturize my nail beds with vaseline before I go to bed) is probably what accounts for 90% of why my nails are longer now.

  9. Happy blogaversary! Your nail art skills have always been great, but it’s awesome to see how much you’ve improved in the past year. Here’s to hoping that your next year of blogging and nail art is as wonderful as the past one has been!

  10. wow what a difference a year makes. I like your older stuff, but you can tell how much you got better with your new stuff. Here’s to seeing more great nail art from you in the future. Happy Blogiversary

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

