Creative musings in bright colors

What would a Challenge be without a final challenge? I went looking for something I had never done before, where I could find a straight-forward tutorial! I wanted to try one-stroke, but I just don’t have the right brush for it (or acrylic paint), so I settled on a sugar spun mani!

IMG_4479

I followed (loosely) a tutorial from xoxoalexis, because it seemed straightforward. She had great tips about putting vaseline around your nail bed for easier clean up. Such a good idea!

IMG_4488

I went for a blue gradient on light grey because…well, I did it a few weeks ago (with my gradient entry for the 31DC) and it looked awesome. Also, because my blue/green zoyas line up so well! I top coated my base color and did not top coat the sugar-spun part. Despite that, the mani stayed on for 4 days easily, and I got to play with the awesome texture!

IMG_2751

Colors
Grey: Maybelline – Bare Escape
Teal: Zoya – Wednesday
Medium blue: Zoya – Rocky
Darker blue: Zoya – Yummy

What other tutorials did other people use? Go see!

Comments on: "Day 30: Tutorial (Sugar Spun Blues)" (4)

  1. thebubblybrunette said:

    Looks great!!

  2. I love this nail art, but I just can’t get it right! This looks great!!!

  3. This looks beautiful — I love the sugarspun look! The texture does look very fun!

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

