Creative musings in bright colors

Watery Mellons

On the day of my 1 year blogiversary, I decided to re-do the very first nail art ever tried: watermelons! Here is the result.

IMG_2784

I started with a base of Clinique Pinkini, which looks like a dupe of Sinful Colors Pink Forever (I’ll have to compare…) only more expensive. Any tiny. Luckily, mine was free. Shown here is two coats, which went on easy but bubbled a tiny bit.

IMG_4585

When the base was dry, I sponged a darker pink over my cuticles, and then sponge a pink-to-white gradient over my tips. I THEN sponged on a white-light green-dark green gradient. (Lots of gradients for this one!) I added thin wiggly lines in my dark green, and finished it off with another one pass of my white-green-green gradient (to dull the wiggles, they were too prominent). I finally added seeds.

IMG_4616

I am somewhat astounded at the result. It looks awesome, especially compared to my first attempt! I do wish my nails were a bit longer (darn it) but such is life!

IMG_4608

vs…

IMG_0532 copy

Colors

  • Pink: Clinique – Pinkini
  • Dark pink: Essie – The Girls Are Out
  • White: Sinful Colors – Snow me White
  • Light green: Essie – The More the Merrier
  • Dark green: Sinful Colors – Exotic Green

IMG_2785

Mmmmm juicy! Mellons! Whee! I hope you enjoyed 🙂

IMG_4637

Happy Friday! And in warning…tomorrows post has nothing to do with nail art. Nothing at all! Bwhaha 😀

Comments on: "Watery Mellons" (16)

  1. Woah! Look at the progress you’ve made in just one year! You must be super proud 🙂

  2. you have the best juicy melons! and they’ve only gotten better with time !

  3. I love seeing the comparison! So cool what you’ve achieved!!

  4. thebubblybrunette said:

    Gorgeous 🙂

  5. They look so cute! And that’s amazing how much you’ve improved since your last attempt!

  6. I love them! Both of them! : ) It’s amazing how the ‘new’ ones are so realistic, all because of those gradients!

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

