Creative musings in bright colors

Corset me Up

I love renaissance fairs. For the first time this year, I have a costume! It is purple and white and beautiful. Of course, I had to design my nails to match my outfit, so I present purple corset nails!

IMG_4660

And my outfit!

IMG_2342

I actually designed these while looking at the corset (it was sitting next to me). The colors match perfectly! I even put together a tutorial (but be warned, this is not for the faint of heart. It took me almost an hour and I work rather fast).

tutorial

  1. Start with a purple base or a white base (for accent nails)
  2. On the purple, paint a thick line of white down the middle of the nail using the polish brush (if needed, touch up the line with a fine nail art brush). On the accent nails, draw in a corset shape in purple, leaving white in the middle and along the top and bottom of the nail
  3. On all nails, add in a decorative border just inside the darker purple coset part, using a lighter purple (I did this using a small dotting tool and adding dots right next to each other)
  4. Then add larger silver dots (the grommets)
  5. Connect the silver dots using darker purple lines. To finish it off, add a bow, or let the free straps hang loose! Cover with top coat, and voila!

I really like these nails. It has been a really long time since I last did anything lace-related, and my fine manual dexterity has (dare I say it) improved somewhat :-p

IMG_4657

Unfortunately, my darkest purple smears with top coat. I think I knew that about this particular polish. Oops!

IMG_2814

Sorry for the photo-spam, I just really liked this design!

IMG_4662

Colors

  • White: Sinful Colors – Snow me White
  • Light purple: Sally Hansen – Lacey Lilac
  • Purple: Zoya – Malia
  • Dark purple: Sinful Colors – Let’s Talk
  • Silver: A England – Excalibur

IMG_2832

Hope you enjoyed!

IMG_4665

Comments on: "Corset me Up" (10)

  1. You look so cute! Nice tutorial 🙂 I

  2. So adorable!! I love Ren fairs too. It’s awesome that you have a costume! I’ve always wanted to put one together.

  3. this is really pretty. I always wanted to do a corset design.

  4. serendipityidhuna said:

    Wow! Nice nailart! I’m gonna try these nailart! Thank for sharing this tutorial!

  5. I love it!
    And a perfect costume!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

