Creative musings in bright colors

Off To See the Wizard

The lovely blogger over at Cosmetish recently had a Wizard of Oz themed nail art competition! Of course, I had to (try) to participate. Partly because I like nail art competitions, but mostly because WIZARD OF OZ! It was one of the few movies my whole family could sit around and watch without fighting.

IMG_4817

I wanted to do a different design on each nail (as I tend towards for nail art competitions), but I am slowly realizing that most people find that off-putting :-p. So I settled for quasi-skittles…two ruby slippers (on the Wicked Witch of the East’s feet of course), and then a variety of other things on a green background.

IMG_4818

We have: the yellow brick road, slippers (I have been dreaming about using Ruby Pumps for the ruby slippers, and I finally got my chance!), the hat of the Wicked Witch of the West, and an apple from the evil animated apple trees! Notice, I didn’t include any protagonists. I honestly side with the Witches in this movie!

IMG_2883

Colors

  • Red glitter: China Glaze – Ruby Pumps
  • White: Sinful Colors – Snow me White
  • Black: Julie G – Black Sheep
  • Silver: Revlon – Metallic
  • Green: Sinful Colors – Exotic Green
  • Yellow: Revlon – Electric
  • Orange: Wet n’ Wild – Sunny Side Up
  • Red: Pure Ice – Siren
  • Dark green: Sinful Colors – Last Chance
  • Brown: Zoya – Dea

IMG_4816

Hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Off To See the Wizard" (16)

  1. This looks amazing! Love the ruby slippers! And what top coat did you use to get everything so smooth?

    • I’ve switched to the cheapest top coat I know… NYC In A New York Minute. It takes two coats (rather than one) but doesn’t appear to smear things and is only $1!

      • What?! I need to go buy some RIGHT NOW. I’ve never tried it out because I assumed that since it was so cheap it would smear everything D:

      • That was my assumption as well, but I figured I might as well try, and if it doesn’t its so cheap I wouldn’t feel bad. But it works great!

  2. Ohh that’s awesome. Love the middle & ring finger design…gives me ideas 😉

  3. I love these, especially the Yellow Brick Road! 😀

  4. the yellow brick road look so cool. great mani! and i also love wizard of oz! such a classic. 😀

  5. Love, love, love these nails! I’m in the middle of auditions for The Wizard of Oz my school is going to do. I so want to do these nails for show night!

  6. I love it, looks so crips and perfect! And great idea with the brick road, original, love it!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

