Creative musings in bright colors

Opulent and Elegant

I splurged. I kept seeing swatches of Birefringence from I Love Nail Polish, and I just couldn’t help myself. I had to have it. I never felt a longing for multi chromes before (I am traditionally a shimmer/sparkle/holo type person) but WOW.

IMG_2856

Birefringence just jumped onto my top 10 polish list (which I will show you at the end of the year, now that I have enough polishes to make such a list meaningful!). Shown here is two coats of birefringence on its own. No black base. No top coat. Just shimmery beautiful goodness. Looking straight on, it is a bright blue, fading to dark blue and violet at the edges of my nails. When I turn my nails, I catch the full range of blue-violet-purple-burgandy-gold-green (at some lights). I can’t stop staring.

IMG_4708

Of course I had to attempt to get some underwater pictures (top right), to show the full range…but my sink leaks. And is brown. So I’m not sure how great a view this gives of the polish, but I think all the other (non-underwater) photos do a good job!

biref_montage

Naturally, I had to try some art with this. I have had this polish for almost two weeks, and couldn’t figure out what I wanted to do with it, so I didn’t touch it! Then it came to me. Simple, elegant. Awesome.

IMG_4749

I taped off triangles at the tips, and painted a thin coat of black polish. I waited about a minute for that to begin to try and stamped over it with silver. It was tacky enough to hold the silver but not to get completely destroyed! I quickly removed the tape. When it was dry, I added striping tape. My stamps were slightly less than perfect since I was both trying to work quickly AND trying not to run the very fresh black polish, but I think I’ll accept these!

IMG_4758

Colors

  • Blue multi chrome: I Love Nail Polish – Birefringence
  • Black: Julie G – Black Sheep
  • Silver: A England – Excalibur
  • Stamp: Bundle Monster – 201

biref_design

I can’t get over this polish! I need some new ideas on what to do with it…other than stare.

IMG_2857

Since Birefringence is an indy polish (aka made by some awesome lady at her house rather than by a company) it is only available for a limited time. If you want one, I suggest you head over to the ILNP website and pick up Birefringence for $12.50. It’s worth it. Now…do I get Mutagen or not?? 😀

Comments on: "Opulent and Elegant" (10)

  1. I LOVE the design you chose for this.
    Wow those colours ❤

  2. O.
    M.
    G.

    I may have to buy this. Have any coupons/deals for this site?

    • Not quite…but if you put it in your cart and don’t check out, you will get a discount coupon emailed to you…I believe it is 15% off or something because “we miss you, come back”. So go all the way through checkout and then wait for the email before buying!

  3. I love this!!! Absolutely stunning!

  4. such a cool nail art design. I really like this one

  5. This is sooo cool! I’ve never seen anything like it! 😀

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

