Creative musings in bright colors

Fire Through Glass

Continuing my Halloween theme, today we have fire, and fire through a stained glass window!

IMG_4999

This was my first attempt at making my own nail decal. I stamped the design on my two middle fingers onto the stamper, hand-painted in each “window” shard, added two thick layers of top coat, and used it as a sticker!

IMG_5011

In the future (and to any of you lovely ladies who want to try this) I recommend doing only ONE coat of top coat. Two was too thick, and as you can see one of my decals snapped when I tried to bend it to my finger. Both were too thick to really look great. I do so love the fiery gradient on my other nails though!

IMG_2976

Colors

  • Red: Pure Ice – Siren
  • Orange: Wet n’ Wild – Sunny Side Up
  • Coral: Ruby Wing – Peony
  • Pink: Essie – Sunday Funday
  • Yellow: Revlon – Electric
  • Neon yellow: Forever 21 – Yellow
  • Black: Julie G – Black Sheep
  • Stamp: Bundle Monster – 208

Despite using a color changing polish, there was very little color change on my nails. Maybe I used too much topcoat?

IMG_3010

Hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Fire Through Glass" (17)

  1. So you stamped the design on the stamper and then painted inside the windows while it was still on the stamper?

    • yup. waited for the black polish to dry on the stamper, then painted in the window colors and waited for them to dry, then painted on top coat. After that, it was REALLY easy to peel the polish off the stamper after it dried!

  2. Love them!
    I had the same idea when I saw a similar geometric image in my plate 🙂 Stained glass windows!

  3. That’s such a good idea! And it looks awesome!

  4. Wow! This is stellar!

  5. looks cool! I love the colors you picked 🙂

  6. thebubblybrunette said:

    Beautiful design 🙂

  7. This looks gorgeous! I love the gradient and your stamping decal looks great (I can’t tell that it’s broken at all!)

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

