Creative musings in bright colors

Peeping Rainbows

One of my favorite manis from early on was ruined by two things: 1) the lack of a black matte polish, and 2) my inability to clean my cuticles. This mani officially solves both of those problems.

IMG_4974

The main solution came in the form of a recent impulse-buy, Rascal by Mentality. I had been craving a black matte, and I wanted to try Mentality polish! Luckily, some of the polishes (including Rascal) went on sale, so I grabbed it! It only took one coat to cover all my rainbow colors, dried nicely (as mattes tend to do) and lasted a whopping two days without cracking (which is impressive for a matte polish).

IMG_4987

I kept running my fingers over the textured goodness! I had covered the rainbow base layer with top coat, to increase the shiny factor. The black was wonderful and velvety.

IMG_2965

I was hoping for nails with blue/green/purple as the central colors, but sadly, my yellow and orange seem to dominate. Darn bright colors! As you might have guessed, this is what my Rainbow Stripes mani that I posted a few days ago ultimately became. If you would like a list of colors, check out that post!

IMG_2956

Ok. At this point it is just photo spam because I love rainbows, and I think the texture contrast looks awesome.

IMG_4982

Last one I promise. Hope you enjoyed!!

IMG_4969

Comments on: "Peeping Rainbows" (34)

  1. Looks amazing and the black matte is just perfect with th stripes underneath.

  2. This is freaking awesome! It looks great!!!

  3. whoa! this is officially one of my favorites of yours!!!!

    • Mine too 😀 I have been planning this one for what…8 months? And just couldn’t find the right black matte to make it work. Ta da!

  4. You did an amazing job! So pretty! And the stripes are so even!!

  5. WOW! this came out amazing!

  6. Love the contrasts of matte and shiny, colorful stripes and simple black. What a great manicure!

  7. When I first glanced at this I thought your stripes were tape or some kind of foil decal. I am stunned and so impressed!

  8. thebubblybrunette said:

    Love this!!

  9. Wow! This looks like it’s been photoshopped, these colours are UNREAL!
    It might be my favourite design of yours.

  10. I’ve never seen anything like this! This is amazing!!! 😀 So cute! 😀

  11. Love this!! It reminds me of when I was little I used to colour a page in rainbow colours, then draw over in black crayon, then use a pencil to etch a picture. Did you ever do that??? So much fun!!

  12. I adore this. And your line work is so neat! (I think I’ve said this before…)

  13. These are so great! Love them. Rainbow and black matte always looks fantastic. 🙂

    It’s such a pain when you come up with an awesome idea early on and botch it a bit because you’re just starting out, your technique’s not that great yet or whatever. I have a bunch of early designs I’d love to post, but I’m so ashamed at my ragged cat butt cuticles, I can’t bear to!

    • I almost always edit my cuticles in the photos I post. Because they are dry and gross. Besides, if the nail art is awesome no one will notice the cuticles!

  14. This looks like a super fun design — I love the contrast between the shiny, bright colors and the black matte polish!

  15. […] Luckily, Mentality had a sale not too long ago, and in addition to Rascal (which I showed you here) I also picked up a deep pink matte shimmer polish, […]

  16. This mani just glows! I swear I thought the rainbows were a decal sticker

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

