Creative musings in bright colors

Glitzy and Gold

Today I have for your viewing pleasure, the final (and favorite) of my new color changing polishes: Strawberry Shortcake by Ruby Wing. This is a beautiful glittery gold that changes from a clear to red base in sunlight! So, I paired it with red.

IMG_5214

Strawberry Shortcake took 3 somewhat thin coats to be fully opaque on its own. It is a bit thick (I blame all the glitter) but was easy to work with once I took that into account. It is packed with gold and holographic glitter, with a smattering of pink and green. It is truly beautiful. In the sunlight, the clear base turns cranberry red! This polish is also scented…like cake 🙂

IMG_5197

Unfortunately, it is a bit hard to know where to clean! I tried to get all the glitter that had wandered, but I did this at night and so didn’t know what the distribution of the base was. It came out ok, but a few fingers look a tad odd by sunlight! I recommend using this one during the day so you can check where it is in the sun before top coat 🙂

IMG_3160

I added chevrons and dotted highlights using my darkest true red, Valentine (Revlon). I had forgotten that Valentine usually takes 3 coats to be opaque. As such, the polish did not sit particularly flat when I tried to add two coats to my tips! Moreover, it is STILL somewhat transparent! Oh well.

IMG_5228

I also added dots and some 3D bits because I was feeling adventurous. This is not the best manicure I have ever done, but it was done quickly and it is super glittery.

IMG_3131

My favorite is indoors (both because the gold is just stunning and because I get the best contrast between the colors) but it looks like a cool ombre outside too!

IMG_5215

Colors

  • Red: Revlon – Valentine
  • Gold-to-red: Ruby Wing – Strawberry Shortcake
  • Gold: Petites Color Fever – 24 kt Gold

IMG_3149

Hope you enjoyed!

Strawberry Shortcake can be purchased for $10 over at Ruby Wing!

Comments on: "Glitzy and Gold" (8)

  1. Strawberry Shortcake is amazing and you’ve done such a lovely job with your nail art as well! 🙂

  2. This looks gorgeous — I love how opulent it looks! Strawberry Shortcake looks like such a fun polish, the color change looks amazing!

  3. that is one pretty gold polish!

  4. Wow, looks great – I love it when it’s all reds. I have this polish, too, and it’s gorgeous, but mine doesn’t smell one bit like strawberries. It smells like…nail polish!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

