Creative musings in bright colors

Tinsel and Twirls

My first Christmas mani! Ok, so I’m Jewish, but that doesn’t stop me from loving all the holiday colors. And glitter. And mooched gifts 😀 This is also my entry for Week 2 of the Nail Art Canada challenge: Decorations (also, go vote)!

IMG_5677

Of all the textured polishes out there, the one I had been lemming the hardest was Solange, by Zoya. I hate the color yellow (really, I do), but something about this super glittery golden yellow just spoke to me. I waited quite a few months, but finally caved on Halloween! Solange was 90% opaque in one coat, but I added a second just to be sure. Unlike most textured polishes, where there is glitter IN the polish but the base is a creme, I’m pretty sure Solange’s base is glitter. So much glitter. And sparkle. I love this polish. Two coats, fast dry time, excellent control with application.

IMG_5651

I have a bad habit of doodling swirls during lecture (when I should be paying attention so I can teach recitation later in the week), and one of the doodles looked cool enough that I wanted it on my fingers! So I pulled out my two mani Zoya holiday colors, and went to work.

IMG_5681

I think I like my accent nail best, with the color divide and 3D appearance of Solange, but I needed to swatch it! So the other fingers are primarily golden.

IMG_5672

IMG_3292

Colors

  • Gold: Zoya – Solange
  • Red: Zoya – Isla
  • Green: Zoya – Holly

IMG_3295

Hope you enjoyed! Please go vote for my nails here!

Comments on: "Tinsel and Twirls" (9)

  1. Absolutely loving this! And my fave is the accent nail also 🙂

  2. Wow! So festive and what a beautiful design! 😀

  3. Omg hard to believe that yellow is almost a one-coater!
    love this festive manicure! I cant work on mine til the weekend when I’m back home 😦 i havent painted my nails in days. This work conference is interfering! So sad.

    • I’m going to israel for almost two weeks and i have NO IDEA what i am going to do with my nails! i feel your pain. I might actually try a gel manicure…just to keep them from splintering into 1000 pieces 😦

      • How exciting Eva!
        I wore pixie dust for 5 or 6 days in Vegas and it chipped but not toooo bad. Gel sounds like a good idea. I hate breaks and chips during a trip.

  4. Heh, you’re the second Jewish blogger I’ve seen to do a Christmas mani. I’m probably gonna do a few to myself. What’s a Jewish girl to do, when faced with such a pretty holiday color scheme after all?

    Definitely keeping this tab in my inspiration list. I love the swirlies, although I’ll probably do it with everyday colors. Heck, at this point I think nearly everything you post goes in there!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

