Creative musings in bright colors

Petrified with Hel

*Polish provided for review

The lovely Samantha (the brains behind Gothic Gala Lacquers) recently sent me a few polishes for review, including this beauty, Hel. Hel hails from the Valhalla collection! I decided to spice up the manicure with some petrified plants, as befitted a goddess of death.

IMG_5870

Hel is a glitter polish that I actually adore. I am usually hesitant to try glitter polishes…they are hard to remove, the glitters like to clump, and the polish tends to require many coats. This polish was opaque in two thin coats, dried quickly, and had beautiful glitter spread! It isn’t as glittery as many that I’ve seen, but I love the subtle autumn colors. To be fair, I used it as is, rather than trying to store it upside-down for any period of time. There are small red circles, black squares, and larger red hexes in a peach base with shimmer. Love.

IMG_5840

IMG_5845

I added three coats of Emotions by OPI on my accent nail…and I have to say that despite being from a mainstream polish company, it took 3 coats and much longer to dry! That being said, it’s really cool looking!

IMG_3336

I added the petrified plant design using black polish. Despite the glitter load, Hel only needed one coat of top coat to be smooth.

IMG_5874

IMG_5871

Colors

  • Nude glitter: Gothic Gala – Hel
  • Black textured: OPI – Emotions
  • Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black

IMG_3356

Even the packaging was beautiful! Purple shreds, glitters, and a lollipop! Samantha makes tasties for your mouth as well as your nails 😀

IMG_5839

Hel and other Gothic Gala polishes can be found on Etsy for $8.50. Follow Gothic Gala on facebook for sales!

Comments on: "Petrified with Hel" (15)

  1. Beautiful Mani! Love it! I didn’t know this indie brand, gotta look it now! 🙂

  2. Awesome nails! I will check out that brand. The bottle looks huge too!

  3. Samantha Rigge said:

    Thank you so much! ❤

  4. Love that it is not a traditional glitter and color combination

  5. This looks like a gorgeous fall polish — I love the nude/peachy base! The lollipop looks delicious (:

    • The polish is awesome. Honestly, haven’t tried the lollipop yet! I’ve been too busy consuming peppermint bark whenever I want a sweet snack 😀

  6. Hel is really pretty with all that glitters… it’s so strange when I like a nude nail polish!
    I find really interesting the stamp over it, it gives an extra dimension to the mani.
    I approve it 😉
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

