Creative musings in bright colors

Lilac Storms

*Provided for review

I’m loving the trend of color-changing polishes! I own a few solar active lacquers, but none that were temperature-dependent…until today. May I present, for your viewing pleasure, Lilac Dreams by Gothic Gala Lacquers. Warning: there are a lot of photos. This polish is awesome and changes color!

IMG_5885

This polish took two coats to be opaque, and dried (very quickly) to a matte finish. I was not expecting the matte, but I liked it! I decided to finish my design BEFORE adding top coat. My apartment is freezing, so the polish started out this beautiful deep purple with subtle pink and blue shimmer. It is decidedly not a creme polish and I love it!

IMG_5848

I ran my pinky and middle finger under hot water, to illicit the color shift. They turned a pretty light purple-grey! I may or may not have spent 20+ minutes playing with hot and cold water… I think I like the dark purple color a tiny bit better with my skin. But still. Awesome.

IMG_5857

The color shift was not at all affected by top coat. Below I am showing the color shift from cold (dark purple), to warm (light purple) with top coat. IT WAS SO COOL!

IMG_5888

IMG_5907

IMG_5900

Unfortunately, my nails were just not long enough to get a strong shift normally. If I was warm, they were light purple. If cold, they were dark. Every now and then I would notice a gradient and get really excited.

IMG_5919

The glitter in the polish really came to life in the sun!

IMG_3345

Colors

  • Purple color shift: Gothic Gala – Lilac Dreams
  • Light purple: L’oreal – Royalty Reinvented
  • Stamp: Bundle Monster – 312

IMG_3360

IMG_5911

Hope you enjoyed! Lilac Dreams can be found here for $8.50. Be sure to check out Gothic Gala Lacquers facebook page!

Comments on: "Lilac Storms" (9)

  1. That was awesome! Del sol sells something similar. The color changes in the sun.

    • Yup! I have three of those, and they are cool. That being said, when it is not sunny there is no color change (and that makes me sad). Here, all I have to do is dip my fingers in water…endless hours of fun 😀

  2. Both the cold and warm colours are really lovely – great to see the pic in the sunshine with the glitter looking amazing! I was sceptical about colour changing polishes but this does look fun…

  3. Samantha Rigge said:

    Love it! ❤

  4. So pretty with the stamping!

  5. To be completely honest, the first thing I noticed about this post was the stamp. Which I now MUST track down and add to my BPS cart (I don’t have money to order at the moment but a girl can dream!)

    However, oh man that polish. I don’t have any thermal polishes yet, but I want one so badly! Definitely going to check out that shop.

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

