Creative musings in bright colors

Winter in the Vallis

*Sent for review

The third and final of my Gothic Gala Lacquer polishes is a beautiful magenta purple with a strong linear holo flare. This is the strongest holo I own, other than Nfu Oh #65, if that gives you some perspective!

IMG_5953

This color is called Vallis Sanguine, or ‘valley of optimism’. This polish is certainly happy! This is two thin coats. It went on like a dream, dried very quickly, and was just a pleasure to work with! My other strong holo (the Nfu Oh) cracks, peels, and just generally has become a disaster to work with. This polish is chip free and going strong at 3 days.

IMG_5921

Notably, the holo flare did NOT dim with the addition of top coat! I use a cheap 99 cent top coat (In A New York Minute by NYC) so if it was going to dim, my top coat would do it. I am really impressed! I also love the color…it looks like an elegant deep red/purple with glitter in dim lights, and comes to life in direct lighting! There has been NO sun since I painted my nails (there has, however, been snow! First snowfall of the season), so all of the photos are indoors. I got out my giant LED flashlight to take the ‘flash’ photos.

IMG_5926

I hand-painted on the snowflakes. I had planned to stamp the designs, but I decided at the last minute to free-hand. I need a minute to brag: this design is on my right hand, which is to say I painted these snowflakes with my non-dominant hand. I have come a LONG way in the last year!!

IMG_5937

I was inspired by this beautiful beaded snowflake manicure at Nail Polish Galore to add micro beads to my snowflakes! I have an order of more colors coming in from the Born Pretty Store that I can’t wait to play with! I’m not sure I think the beads add to the manicure, but they certainly make a fun texture to mess around with 🙂

IMG_5955IMG_5946

Colors

  • Purple holo: Gothic Gala Lacquers – Vallis Sanguine
  • White: Zoya – Purity

IMG_5959

Vallis Sangine ($9.50) can be found at the Gothic Gala Lacquers etsy page. Check out Gothic Gala on facebook for sales. From now till Christmas, all polishes 15% off with the code PRESENT15! Happy polishing, and happy first snow!

Comments on: "Winter in the Vallis" (10)

  1. I am in awe. I love how you took the magenta holo polish and turned it into a christmas mani. Incredibly pretty!

    • thanks! I didn’t know what to do with the color, but it was certainly time for more holiday manis! I’m glad you like it 🙂

  2. the beads really seal the deal! nice job on the hand painting as well

  3. Gorgeous snowflakes! I thought they were decals at first. And I love that NYC topcoat. It’s the only one I use now.

    • Same! Now granted I’ve never tried Seche Vite or HKgirl, but this one is sooo cheap and works remarkably well!

      • I used to use Seche Vite but it would always make my polish peel off in sheets. I know not everyone has that problem but it would happen to me every time I used it. The NYC one dries just as fast and doesn’t make my polish peel! Plus it looks amazing – I’ve had several people ask if I was wearing shellac polish since I started using it!

  4. Beautiful! I love snowflakes, gotta give em a try this year! 🙂

  5. […] then stamped on some snowflakes (I am NOT hand drawing any more snowflakes this season! It takes hours) from Bundle Monster plates 319 and 323. Finish with some […]

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

