Creative musings in bright colors

Fireside

The theme for Week 3 of Nail Polish Canada’s challenge is “Holiday Memories.” My favorite thing to do in the winter is to snuggle up under a blanket near a fire and just lose myself in the flames. I put together this mani to commemorate fireplaces everywhere: blaze on!

IMG_3376

Although my fireplace at home is not rimmed in marble, I thought it would be a nice touch! I actually made the “marble” (white with blue and two shades of grey added with saran wrap) first, then the flames, and then colored in the negative space with black. If I had to do this over, I would NOT do the flames before the black! That is why some of them look a bit odd.

IMG_6064

I couldn’t figure out what to do with my thumb, so just continued the burning logs! I think it ended up looking pretty nifty.

IMG_6072

The bricks were done cement first, with three shades of red dotted on after the grey was dry. I really like how they came out!

IMG_6071

I am not planning to post all the colors that I used, because I had maybe…15 colors in total? If you are curious about a particular color let me know!

IMG_6046

If you enjoyed this mani, please go vote for it!! Just enter your email (they won’t spam you) and select my nails (flightofwhimsy). Happy polishing!

Comments on: "Fireside" (24)

  1. What an awesome look, I wish I was by a fireplace right now 🙂

  2. That is sooooo cute!! I absolutely love it!!

  3. Oh my gosh, love love love!!!

  4. These are so awesome…. Love it!

  5. I think the brick-work looks super! And so do the flames!

  6. Fantastic! I especially love the bricks.

  7. thebubblybrunette said:

    Stunning!

  8. Very creative idea, you did such an amazing job of the fire. Awesome!

  9. So perfect! This is such an amazingly creative idea! So cozy… 😀

  10. Very pretty!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

