Creative musings in bright colors

Lined and Golden

I wanted to do some crazy Christmas-colored striping tape nail art (it has been too long), and so I set out to scour the internet for some inspiration. What I found was so beautiful that I simply duplicated it (with different colors). So, check out this beautiful art by Wondrously Polished.

IMG_6449

Clearly I went with a different color scheme. I grabbed an untried red polish since I wanted a dark creme…and a gold that I got just for striping tape and have never used for that purpose! D’oh.

IMG_6420

As it turns out, I was probably subconsciously inspired with the gold/red theme by the iconic striping tape mani from Dressed Up Nails. I do swear it wasn’t on purpose! But the colors are just so…wonderful.

IMG_6437

Anyway, I love love love the way this came out. It is rather hard to stripe with matte polish since it dries so fast and can pull when you remove the tape. The key is to use a very thin layer!

IMG_6443

The red base (you know, that one I grabbed from my untried stash) is the new deep red creme from the OPI Holiday Collection. It is called Visions of Love. It was a tad bit runny, but went on beautiful in two coats and dried to this deep glossy red. It is easily the darkest red I own. So pretty! I you want a 2-coater vampy red, this is a good choice.

IMG_6378

Colors
Red: OPI – Visions of Love
Gold: Petites Color Fever – 24kt Gold

IMG_6429

IMG_6412

I can’t even pick a favorite finger. Maybe the middle? But the ring finger is so unique…

Comments on: "Lined and Golden" (10)

  1. GORGEOUS! I love the design on all of the nails, especially the thumb! 😀

  2. This is so pretty! I could see this being a great New Year’s manicure too.

  3. It looks so classy! Very beautiful 🙂

  4. So pretty and very precise! Love the colors, too

  5. I absolutely LOVE how these turned out, especially your ring finger! I’ve done striping tape manis plenty, but I don’t think I’ve ever done anything quite that pattern.

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

