Creative musings in bright colors

Swirls and Dots

Honestly, I am not 100% happy with this manicure. Gold dots look great over black, but the black didn’t mesh as well with the gold. Also, I messed up, tried to fix it…and it shows. I ended up re-doing this manicure, but as I had already taken all the photos and since it does work nicely for New Years (they do somewhat look like spirally fireworks!) I’m posting it. The newer version will come later (after I edit those darn photos)!

IMG_2607

This manicure required three things: a black polish (Black on Black by Sinful Colors) a rosy gold polish (Penny Talk by Essie…which I had been lemming SO HARD!) and a dotting tool (unbent paper clip). I saw a photo online of beautifully swirled gold dots on black (I still can’t decide if it was a stamp or a decal…I think it was a decal) and decided I wanted to free-hand the design. Success…?

IMG_2605

IMG_3485

The new polish here is Penny Talk. I must say, I tend to not buy Essie polishes because they are too expensive and never go on sale. But when I do happen to acquire one (for example as a holiday gift) they are great polishes! Penny Talk is a pink-gold (champagne?) metallic polish that dries to a frosted mirror finish…its a little more pink than shown in the photo below! I own nothing like it. It was opaque in two coats and despite looking streaky on application, dried nice and smooth. It is also PERFECT for dotting! Very dense.

IMG_2586

IMG_2600

What were you guys wearing for New Years? Anything fun or outrageous on your nails?

Comments on: "Swirls and Dots" (12)

  1. I love the gold on black. Happy New Year. Steph x

  2. I think it looks great!

  3. I think the combo looks good! Faves have to be your ring-finger nail and thumb-nail!

  4. great swirly dots! I love how it turned out 🙂

  5. I like the colour combo. And love the idea of using a paper clip as dotting tool!
    And never mind the small glitch. This is a gorgeous mani!
    I am wearing 1 coat of Revlon Chroma Chameleon Topaz over a plain black polish. Nothing special.
    Happy New Year, darling!

  6. […] a few weeks ago I mentioned that I liked swirling golden dots on black, and that I had re-done a manicure? Well, here is that manicure! And unlike the original, I consider this a full […]

  7. […] 1: Essie – Penny Talk. This pink-gold metallic polish has been my go-to gold for a while, and I love […]

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

