Creative musings in bright colors

Sea Zig-Zag

What do you get when you combine creme polish, textured polish, and tape? A somewhat cool/somewhat wonky manicure! I initially wanted to do this with yellow/orange, but one of my polishes was still in the mail.

IMG_3224

This manicure was inspired by Sarah at Chalkboard Nails (as so many are). Her’s look incredible…mine are a bit sad. Turns out my zig-zag scissors are just a bit too big to make multiple zigs on my nails! I also tend to forget that one of my blues is a jelly and will NOT make a successful gradient.

IMG_5502

IMG_5515

Either way, I do think this design looks alright. I love the texture, and how sharp it came out. Maybe I will try again with my yellows (now that they are here) but I doubt it. Move forward!

IMG_3219

Colors

  • White: Zoya – Purity
  • Light blue: Zoya – Rocky
  • Medium blue: Maybelline – Shocking Seas
  • Dark blue: Maybelline – Midnight Swim
  • Light blue textured: Julie G – Blueberry Fizz
  • Dark blue textured: Zoya – Sunshine

IMG_5510

Hope you enjoyed! And stay tuned next week for some awesome guest posts…including rainbows, snowflakes, disney, holiday, and…well….whatever it is that my sister tries to do on her nails!

Comments on: "Sea Zig-Zag" (5)

  1. I like this a lot!!! I need to try gradient again, I never feel like it after a few attempts that I thought didn’t look right, but I probably needed a few layers and some topcoat. And more patience…LOL

    • when in doubt, MORE LAYERS! I recommend trying with textured polish. My gradients always come out better and with fewer layers that way

  2. this looks great! I actually just did a similar gradient chevron manicure, also inspired by Chalkboard Nails (and Storm and Stars). Great minds!

  3. I LOVE this look. Especially the nail with Zoya on 🙂

  4. I think it turned out great.

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

