Creative musings in bright colors

Tropical Marble

A friend of mine gave me a 3 polish set for my birthday (yes, way back in June) that I STILL hadn’t tried! They were a “Love and Beauty” set from Forever 21. I had used the yellow once in July, and just set it aside. It was time to play with all three of them.

IMG_6392

The purple and the yellow looked rather sheer, and I didn’t feel like swatching all of them over white. However, they did drip easy (…all over my counter when I wasn’t paying attention. Oops) so I decided to try to marble with them! Since I already own an almost identical but more expensive blue and purple, I figured it couldn’t hurt!

IMG_6399

This might be my favorite watermarble ever. The colors meshed really well, the polish stayed “wet” for much longer than normal so I was able to get really small lines! Usually the polish dries on the water too fast to make really detailed marbles.

IMG_6389

IMG_6400

My accent nail is a gradient of the three polishes over white with holographic glitter (Kaleidoscope by Wet n’ Wild). It is a bit amazing to me how neon yellow the yellow polish is on its own, and yet it looks almost orange-y when I marbled with it! I blame the purple next to it. I still love it.

IMG_3480

What do you guys think? Success? I know these are the wrong colors for winter. But I am tired of deep dark elegant shades. I wanted some BRIGHT in my life! And moral of the story: cheap polish really does marble well!

Comments on: "Tropical Marble" (33)

  1. colorfull 😀

  2. oh my gosh, gorgeous water marble!!

  3. Gorgeous 🙂 I love the ring finger especially. The colours really go with the theme of your blog!

    http://beautyadoration.wordpress.com/

  4. This combination is gorgeous!

  5. Ah! You’re too good at this!

  6. That is absolutely beautiful!

  7. I love the colors you used! Very pretty mani!

  8. Oh this is so lovely! 😀 Water marbling is something I can never get to work, so I’m going to hide in a corner being jealous of your marbling skills! 😀

  9. Wow, this is totally one of the BEST watermarbles I have ever seen!!

  10. It looks gorgeous!

  11. This is such a refreshing mani . The colors look great together and i love the gradient.

  12. Oh wow, these colours look fantastic together!
    Love the crisp lines!!

  13. Ohhhh, this makes me want to try marbling again! I love it!

  14. I love these! The bright colors are so amazing! I haven’t had much luck marbling with my Deborah Lippmann polishes… maybe I’ll have to break out the ones from Forever 21 🙂

    • I keep finding that cheap polish ($3 and less) marble better than expensive ones! I don’t know why, but I have a hunch that if you try it with some cheap drug store brand you’ll have better luck!

  15. Wow what vivid colors! They look brilliant together in both the water marble AND the gradient! SO glad you shared them 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  16. Amazing! I LOVE the water marble and the gradient/glitter! Fabulous! 🙂

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

