Creative musings in bright colors

Black Eyed Susan

My mother doesn’t understand nail art. While I was home for the holidays I painted my sisters nails twice, her toenails once (French flags and Eiffel towers. On her toes. No, there will be no photos but it was pretty cool), and my own nails twice. My mother requested plain pink polish. However, I decided I wanted her to like at least one of my nail designs, and her favorite flower is a Black Eyed Susan. Thus, these nails were born!

IMG_2733

I must admit, I was also driven by a desire to match my nails to a dress I wore to a friend’s birthday party. It was possibly a mistake wearing textured polish with a lace dress, but everyone was so impressed that I at least TRIED to match that it didn’t matter 😀

IMG_2752

The blue polish here is this wonderful textured medium blue with silver hex glitters called Kiss Me At Midnight by OPI. In the bottle, the silver glitters are overwhelming…but on the nail they fade a bit. I love the end result! Shown here are two coats of polish (obviously no top coat). This dried less textured than the other OPI polishes I have tried, but was definitely not flat.

IMG_2705

I ended up painting the yellow and white flowers over the blue on most of my nails, while starting with yellow nails and outlining in blue for my accent and thumb. It was fun to compare the two processes! However, given that my yellow polish is a thick clumpy mess (ugh), being able to top coat it (accent nail) really did help. I messed up this manicure twice waiting for the yellow to dry over the blue polish! That is unusual for me.

IMG_2726

Colors

  • Blue: OPI – Kiss Me At Midnight
  • Yellow: Revlon – Electric
  • White: Zoya – Purity
  • Orange: Zoya – Thandie
  • Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black

IMG_2741

I don’t often go with a purely floral design, so this was a nice change of pace! And my mother did approve, although she wanted to know “how you got the glitters into the blue polish. Do they make polishes that glitter like that?”. Hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Black Eyed Susan" (13)

  1. Beautiful! I like the close-ups, and it would be really nice to see both hands too, including the thumbs. I’m sure this looked *great* with a lace dress!

    • so, i try to post photos that include both my fingers and my thumbs (i hate when people don’t post thumb photos!) but the reason i seldom post both hands it that I’m usually off-handed. That is to say, I update my blog monday-friday, but I only paint my nails 2-3 times a week. The only way to keep this up is to have both my hands be different! So you tend to not see both of them in one post

  2. Wow, this looks so cool! Great job! 🙂

  3. Those flowers are stunning!

  4. thebubblybrunette said:

    This is super cute! Did you use the one-stroke technique for this?

  5. This is so creative! You should post a tutorial on how you did this.

  6. These are gorgeous!!
    Love the flowers, and the accent is brilliant.

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

