Creative musings in bright colors

Blue and Glitsy

I had a formal this past weekend, and was planning to wear a blue ombre dress. Today also happens to be the ‘blue’ theme day in the GOT Crumpet Challenge! As it happens, some of my favorite blue polishes (and the ones that matched my dress best) were all over a year old.

IMG_3572

I don’t even know how to describe this manicure other than AWESOME. I made a teal-to-blue ombre with two metallic polishes, and then stamped over them with black using Bundle Monster plate 301. Despite the myriad of bubbles on my nails (grrrr destroyed from that darn gel polish!) the end product looks awesome!

IMG_6570

IMG_3575

I recently started blog-stalking the queen of glitter placement: Polish All The Nails. Her patience and way with color is awe-inspiring. If you like all things shiny, check out her blog. Anyway…I recently received a set of 12 pots of hexagonal nail glitters to review from the Born Pretty Store, and decided I wanted to create a glitter ombre accent! So I set about carefully placing each glitter.

IMG_6579

Even I am impressed. IT IS SO SPARKLY! I love the almost holographic sheen to the teal, and the mysteriousness of the dark blue. This nail took almost 20 minutes, I don’t know how she does it! I think you’ll be seeing quite a few more glitter placement accents in the near future…

IMG_6568

What’s more, the Born Pretty Store accidentally sent me an extra set of 12 glitter pots! (Well, I had requested something else but they sent two of these instead) so one of YOU lovely readers gets to take home a set of 12! Since this isn’t polish, the giveaway is open internationally. I’ll be setting it up and running it this weekend, so check back in two days!

IMG_3574

Colors

  • Teal: Petites Color Fever – Figi
  • Blue: Wet n’ Wild – Blue Moon
  • Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
  • Stamp: Bundle Monster – 301

IMG_6573

In case you want to make your own epic glitter gradients, all of these sparkles can be found at the Born Pretty Store for $4.59! (And don’t forget to use my 10% off code if you buy something: LY5X31!) Hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Blue and Glitsy" (27)

  1. This is PERFECT! I just love love love it! These colours! ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Reminds me of the ocean, and the little mermaid! 😉 Love it!

  4. This is amazing! You are one talented nail artist 🙂

  5. Oh wow! So beautiful! 😀

  6. I love this! I’ve only done full glitter placement once or twice, since it takes me forEVER to do it. I imagine I’d get better if I practiced more but I can barely control the urge to hulk-smash my supplies out of frustration XD

    • LOL i think the most frustrating thing for me was actually clean-up. Glitter goes EVERYWHERE! Including on my other hand which was NOT destined to involve glitter. Ugh.

  7. I like the tiny bubbles under the polish! It makes it look more like water.

  8. I saw your ring finger and thought “Oh it looks like Polish All The Nails” I love her blog! Your mani is amazing! I really want to try the glitter placement too! 🙂

    • yay! hahaha now that I have all this glitter I need to USE it right? I may or may not have spent hours on her blog in the recent past trying to find anything easy enough for me to replicate

  9. Wooow i’M loving this design. It’s sooo pretty. I can def see myself using these colors together. Pls come over & do my nails! 😀 xo

  10. Iiiii LOVE this!!!! The colors are amazing on their own, and together, I love this whole look! really pretty!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

