Creative musings in bright colors

Good Witch

Many months ago, I won the Wizard Of Oz nail art contest over at Cosmetish. The prize was one Oz themed polished from Different Dimension, which finally arrived last week! It is called I’ve Never Seen A Beautiful Witch.

IMG_3634

This is both my first experience with Different Dimension, and my first time trying to get large glitters out of a bottle (other than Cosmic Forces by Emily de Molly), and it was NOT easy. I started with an off-white base, because I was afraid the polish was going to be somewhat opaque. I should not have worried. It took 4 coats just to have enough glitter to make me happy 😦

IMG_6660

I want to love this polish. In the bottle, it is beautiful! White with pink, teal, purple, white, and little shimmery glitters. Circle glitters (I LOVE CIRCLE GLITTERS). But on the nail…it just didn’t do it. In the last week I have swatched and played with 3 of the glitter bombs from the KBShimmer line, and I can safely say that I now know how to apply dense glitter polish. I don’t know if I am being unfair to this particular polish because it was the first I tried.

IMG_6653

Although my boyfriend liked the end result, I was not terribly pleased. There were too many coats of polish (although most of that was my fault), I really had to dig for the larger glitters despite storing it upside-down, and a lot of the colors got buried in the milky base. There was this BEAUTIFUL pink flash from flakies, but you can’t see much of it in the photos, except the macro below.

IMG_6678

I think I need to try this polish again, now that I am more familiar with applying dense glitters…and without a base layer!

IMG_6674

The accent nail and my attempt at Glinda’s crown on my thumb were both done in Crushed Candy by Julie G. I still love that color. It was supposed to pick up the pink glitters in INSABW…it kinda worked.

IMG_3639

What do you guys think? Worth trying again? Or just a dud polish?

Comments on: "Good Witch" (11)

  1. I love the glitter. I think it would be worth it to try again without a base layer. It would be fun just to be able to say “I’ve Never Seen a Beautiful Witch” when people ask about it 🙂

  2. I would try it again
    I like it

  3. Whatever the case, it is very disappointing when a polish doesn’t apply like you want it to….& especially when it’s so gorgeous inside the bottle! 😦

  4. I dunno, I really like it! For costs is a bit much though. Still, it’s pretty 🙂

  5. Aw that sucks it didn’t work for you! I hope you can find a way, it’s so beautiful and you have the one and only bottle 🙂 I love the crown!

    • I think (maybe) I have figured out a better way to apply it, but I was really frustrated at the time! I think I’ll give it a few weeks and then try again 🙂

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

