Creative musings in bright colors

Flourish of Fans

I did not do a manicure in honor of the Lunar New Year on Friday, and one of my friends complained! So, this weekend I spent a bit of time putting one together. I realize that it is the year of the horse, but I don’t think I am talented enough to paint a horse on my nails! So I settled for red and gold (and silver).

IMG_6951

The plan was a red base with a gold-to-silver gradient stamp. My new gold is more pinkish copper, so I added some real gold just for contrast on my accent nail and thumb. Basically, the full-nail stamps are silver to copper, with gold dots added. My accent nail is just gold, and my thumb has all three colors (I’m rather proud of my thumb).

IMG_6961

Unfortunately, when I added top coat, the gold/silver/copper melded into the red. It still looks very cool, but now every nail has a metallic-to-red gradient within the stamp rather than what I had intended!

IMG_6953

The base color is a holographic polish by Nabi simply called “red”. I thought I had swatched it before, but I never did. Oops! It is a rather weak holo, but it is quite a pretty color. With top coat, it just becomes shiny and mutli-dimensional, but the holo flare disappears completely.

IMG_6952

I think I prefer the manicure with the initial colors (which is why so many of these photos don’t have top coat). :-/

Colors

  • Red: Nabi – Red
  • Silver: A England – Excalibur
  • Gold: Maybelline – Bold Gold
  • Copper: Essie – Penny Talk
  • Stamps: Bundle Monster – 204, 215

IMG_3730

Which do you prefer? And happy (belated) Chinese New Year!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

