Creative musings in bright colors

Green Hex and Hexagons!

Out of the entire KBShimmer blogger collection, the polish I was most looking forward to playing with was Green Hex and Glam, designed by one of my polish idols, Kayla Shevonne. But, I had to come up with a way to not completely cover the polish! I was inspired by the hexagons in the polish to make my own spirally hexes!

IMG_6875

You know how glitter bombs are a disaster to work with and end up patchy and thick? Not so with this polish. Fresh off my disappointment with a Different Dimension glitter bomb, I was expecting to wrestle with this polish. It was (almost) a dream. I had stored the polish bottle upside down overnight, and didn’t have to dig at all (and I do mean that) to get the larger glitters. If anything, I had to wipe them off the brush! The first coat was (predictably) patchy, but the polish looked amazing at 2 coats. I added a third just to get rid of some VNL on one nail, and WOAH. I didn’t add top coat (yet) because I wanted to add my design first, but let me reassure you, two thin coats of top coat and this polish is completely smooth.

IMG_6839

I am in love. I was always a fan of dark colors with big glitter, but the variation in size and the emerald green of this polish…just woah. And it was easy to use! Ahhhh! I need to come up with more ways to use this glittery awesomeness!

IMG_6840

The spirally hexes were free-handed with Excalibur by A England. They actually came out almost exactly as I had imagined.

IMG_6874

IMG_3679

Just to make it clear…this was painted with my left hand. So I was able to get perfect glitter coverage with my non-dominant hand. I did end up needing to clean up some of the green that had gotten on my cuticles (no one is perfect) but since it is a jelly polish, it came off easy!

IMG_3681

I am so excited to use the rest of the glitters in this collection…maybe I won’t end up swearing off glitter polish! I’ll just have to stick to buying them from KBShimmer :-p

IMG_6871

Comments on: "Green Hex and Hexagons!" (9)

  1. I love those hex spirals! Great pairing!

  2. such a gorgeous polish

  3. What a beautiful swatch and such a pretty polish. I absolutely adore the design you decided to use. It works perfect and it reminds me of like alien script or something. 🙂

  4. I *really* need to get my hands on some kb shimmer polish… this green is gorgeous!

  5. […] #2: KBShimmer – Green Hex and Glam […]

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

