Creative musings in bright colors

Ballet Shoes

I danced for 15 years. This manicure holds a special place in my heart, because it is unlikely that I will ever do ballet again (I cracked my hip out of my socket when I was 16 and danced for two more years…but it has somewhat destroyed my right leg and my back). The closest I can get is putting it on my nails and occasionally dancing around my bedroom for fun.

IMG_6685

This was a very easy manicure, so I have put together a tutorial at the end of the post for you guys. This was also the first mani I did with my “new nail shape” (aka: most of my nails broke after I removed gel polish, and a few days later the rest broke so I filed them to circles to avoid losing all the length. I honestly don’t like it and I changed it back to mostly squoval less than a week later). So, ballet shoes! They are somewhere between pointe shoes and ballet flats.

IMG_3631

Colors

  • Light pink: Revlon – Calla Lilly
  • Pink: Sinful Colors – Pink Forever
  • White: Zoya – Purity

IMG_3626

The thing on my thumb was supposed to be a tutu. It didn’t exactly work out as planned, but its still cute I guess! I also don’t remember what the coral and purple that I used on my thumb were. Oops.

IMG_6687

And now, on to the tutorial!

Ballet Shoe Tutorial

Step 1: Paint your nails with a very light pink or nude polish. Don’t worry about slight visible nail line.
Step 2: Using your pink polish, paint the edges of your nails in a U shape. Start the U about 1/2 down the nail.
Step 3: Using a thin striping brush, add two laces in pink polish. Try to make them cross in the middle of the nail, and “attach” just above where the shoe ended.
Step 4: Outline the border of the U shaped shoe with white polish. I used an unbent paper clip to add tiny dots and make them appear lacy. You could also just paint a thin white line. Top coat and you’re done!

Hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Ballet Shoes" (7)

  1. This is beautiful! Very cute, playful, and stylish too! Thanks for the tutorial — I just might try this one!

  2. Aww these are so cute! Love <333

  3. OH MY GAWSH! I love them.

  4. Cute! My best friend does ballet, and she loves tutorials, so made sure she finds her way here 😉

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

