Creative musings in bright colors

Hearts In The Deep

I have NO idea why, but for some reason I am dedicating this manicure to Lord Of The Rings, “We cannot get out. The end comes. Drums, drums in the deep. They are coming”. This is Hearts In The Deep, aka my first attempt at a pond mani! Nail Art Canada included as their Valentine’s Day challenge a “most hearts” challenge, and this is my entry!

IMG_7022

I actually spent an hour trying to test a bunch of different polishes because I don’t own any jellies…and for a successful pond mani you need a jelly polish! Then I remembered, my old mini OPI scented glitters! Lo and behold, I am saved. None of the other polishes I tried were going to work (like…at all. It was painful), and then I remembered my little rainbow set that I had stopped using because they weren’t opaque enough. I got them when I first started doing nail art and didn’t know why they were so sheer. Now I know: I have a whole rainbow of jellies! Yay!

IMG_3766

This manicure took a LONG time. I had to wait (well, as best I could) between adding each layer of hearts and adding the next layer of polish. I also messed up my accent nail TWICE and had to re-start it. It has 8 layers of polish, and just did NOT want to dry. D’oh.

IMG_7018

I counted as I went (I have a montage of all the hearts at the bottom of this post) and I think I ended up with 64 hearts in the “pond” style, with either one or 4 on my accent nail (depending on how you count it). Go me!

IMG_3776

I think I have to try more pond manis in the future. This was fun!

Comments on: "Hearts In The Deep" (11)

  1. Oh my gosh, I would never have the patience to do that. It looks absolutely gorgeous though!

  2. Really cute!

  3. I didn’t realize there was a prize for most hearts until a few hours before the contest closed 😦 I thought about quickly doing a mani using my heart pattern stamping plate but even then I think you would’ve beat me with your overlapping hearts! I love the overlapping hearts they’re super cute! Maybe with a coat of top coat in between each layer the polish would’ve dried better? But then again 8 coats is A LOT… and putting top coat in between would probably just make it thicker? hmm… i’ve never done more than 5 layers i don’t think…

    • i did consider layering with top coat, but i figured that would make my poor nails look like 3D bubbles! I was actually working on “I *heart* You” on my other hand at the same time, so between them I managed to get coats done in a reasonable time period. And thank you! There are some girls with more hearts, but they are counting weird nested hearts and none of them are hand-done. I kinda hope I win SOMETHING! 😀

  4. Hello Eva !

    It is absolutely stunning! I’ve never seen a similar mani … There are no words to describe the state of sideration and admiration in which I am.
    Total respect (in French in the text, expression not difficult to translate and used in France when we are so admiring that we are open-mouthed).

    Amitiés,
    Claire

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

