Creative musings in bright colors

Vortex of Love

I wanted to do something new, something Valentine’s Day themed (because, as much as I am sick of pink and red and hearts, it is that time of year) that I hadn’t seen done for my entry into Polish Alcoholic and Luchessa‘s nail art contest. I was partially inspired by the new Incocco nail strips, partially by my desire to use all of my pink and red cremes, and partially by my current obsession with making my own nail decals.

IMG_7056

I think I succeeded. I have 3 red polishes 2, pink polishes, 1 grey polish, lots of stamping decals (ok, so I tried it first on a plastic bag and it FAILED), and a huge mess to clean up.

IMG_3784

I started off with a sugarspun gradient on most of my nails. Now, I do love sugarspun nails, but I keep forgetting how hard it is to get the gooeyness (that is a technical term) of the polish just right…and how darn long it takes to clean up all the polish on your cuticles! It took me maybe 25 minutes to do…and a full hour to clean. I then tried to make pink and red swirly decals (so I didn’t have to swirl them on my nails)…and it didn’t work on a plastic bag. Well, I had so much luck last week making the I *heart* You manicure, that I thought I would just try painting directly on my stamper. Success!

IMG_7068

It is SO MUCH easier to get things off of a squishy rubber stamper than plastic! Oy! The only problem is you have to go one finger at a time, or prepare in advance. Or both.

IMG_7060

The hearts were ALSO made on the stamper…I just stamped single hearts from BM-317 and colored them in. Because no, I cannot freehand hearts on my nails. I tried. It was not pretty.

Colors

  • Dark red: OPI – Visions of Love
  • Red: OPI – All I Want For Christmas (Is OPI)
  • Light red: Pure Ice – Siren
  • Dark pink: Essie – Sunday Funday
  • Coral pink: L’oreal – Orange You Jealous?
  • Grey: Maybelline – Bare Escape

IMG_3793

I thought these nails were going to be a fail. I am so proud of myself! 🙂 Hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Vortex of Love" (16)

  1. These are very cool. I love them.

  2. Wooow!!, is amazing! ❤ ❤

  3. Gorgeous! These kind of remind me of the swirly vortex in the Doctor Who opening 😀

  4. I love this the swirly-ness looks so awesome!

  5. These are incredible! I can’t decide which I love more: the smooth molten swirls or the perfect texture of the spun sugar!

    • 😀 😀 I’m biased, but i LOVE the swirl on my ring finger. It’s nuts. …and took much less time to clean than the darn sugar spun.

  6. Ahhhh timing… I have a spun sugar gradient on my nails too! I am posting it tonight actually. It’s funny, right as I’m planning a spun sugar post like four other bloggers in my circle do one! Originality FTW 😀

  7. Hi, just wanted to let you know I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award 😀

  8. […] The 3rd place and sharing goes to: Vic and Her Nails and Flight of Whimsy […]

  9. […] The 3rd place and sharing goes to: Vic and Her Nails and Flight of Whimsy […]

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

