Creative musings in bright colors

Useless

My official Valentine’s Day manicure is suitably nerdy and also wonderful. One of my favorite webcomics is xkcd (in case you couldn’t tell from the banner at the side of my blog), and I have been wanting to do xkcd-themed nails for a while. Although this doesn’t quite count (I will still be doing stick figures at some point), these nails were inspired by my favorite individual comic from the series…Useless.

IMG_7041

The point is that a nerd’s normal approach to life (math) is useless in the face of love. You can’t take the cosine of love, or use the identity matrix to figure it out. The derivative of love tells you nothing, and the square root of a heart is still a heart 😀

IMG_7045

These were made using decals…which is to say since these are on my dominant hand, I actually painted them onto my stamper, peeled them off, and applied them to my nails. They are not perfect (either the writing or the application) but I think they are still adorable. Also, I matted them. Because…comics. Yah.

IMG_3794

Colors

  • White: Zoya – Purity
  • Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
  • Red: OPI – All I Want For Christmas (is OPI)

I also have to say that the fine writing detail in this mani was only possible because my friend was curious if I could get finer lines by using a finer brush. And so he made me one. Its a modified protractor part with a single toothbrush hair stuck on the top (he assured me it was an UNUSED toothbrush). The verdict: oh yes, I can definitely do details with this brush! It’s a little unwieldy to hold, but for decals it is amazing. So thanks, David! I know you read this :-p

IMG_3798

Happy Valentine’s Day! Go eat lots of chocolate, get flowers, or something. If you are single, get YOURSELF flowers. It is still awesome 😀

Comments on: "Useless" (2)

  1. Aww that’s one of my favorite XKCDs!

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

