Creative musings in bright colors

Rainbow Feather

I love textured polishes, and I now own 21 of them. I took them all out of their (crowded) shelf, and picked out a rainbow to use to make a feather on my nails! Although I’m not 100% happy with this (I couldn’t figure out how to taper the ends of each feather part) I do think it looks pretty cool.

IMG_6855

This was pretty straight forward. White base, top coat, and then go. I started with red, which is why the blues and purples got kinda squished off the end. Still, rainbow! Although, after wearing this for a few days, I received different interpretations of it, including: an autumn tree (greens and blue are land), a rainbow-colored mop, and a rainbow centipede (I contributed that one). So, maybe not feather?

IMG_3692

Any suggestions on other ways to use LOTS of textured polish in one mani? I can just sit around and do textured gradients forever, but I want to mix it up a bit. Ideas?

IMG_6858

IMG_6854

Colors

  • White: Zoya – Purity
  • Black: OPI – Emotions
  • Red: Julie G – Hot Cinnamon
  • Orange: Julie G -Tangerine Dream
  • Yellow: Zoya – Solange
  • Green: Julie G – Rock Candy
  • Blue: OPI – Kiss Me At Midnight
  • Purple: Zoya – Sugarplum Fairy
  • Pink: Julie G – Crushed Candy

IMG_6863

Must…use…textures! Maybe I’ll just start doing glitter accent nails or something, but that seems like less fun!

Comments on: "Rainbow Feather" (6)

  1. Hmmm to use a bunch at once…maybe a whole lot of dots that gradiate in color across your nails?

  2. I once attempted a fishtail mani with texture- it got SUPER thick and gloopy so I gave up and went with regular colors. But maybe a fishtail french tip? Less room for polish to accumulate.

    (P.S. since I couldn’t reply to your comment before- the fact that you wear medical gloves definitely complicates things, I didn’t realize! I’d say maybe apply some oil first thing in the morning, then on your lunch break, then on your way home. And do a thicker moisturizer before bed? IDK, I’ve never had to work around that kind of obstacle.)

    • oooh fishtail tips! not a bad idea. and yah, boo gloves! my current routine is just vasoline and good cream in the morning and at night. if i did get something that would fit in my bag i could probably do lunch as well, when i take lunch breaks.

  3. Me thinks I have to try this design!
    I’ve done skinny stripes with my textures as well as dots.
    Color blocking could be fun too. Crazy quilting?

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

