Creative musings in bright colors

Sandy Shores

What to do with a clear glitter topper that has so much color you have no idea which base to put it over? How about play with the name! Today we have a manicure 100% inspired by Sand In My Stocking from KBShimmer.

IMG_3708

This polish is insane, and I mean that in the best way possible. There are small orange hexes, blue and gold small circles, tiny brown and white hexes, and tiny square gold glitters (yes, square!). There is also the occasional gold holographic star, but they are rare (which in my option is a good thing).

IMG_6940

The thing about this polish is that it is ridiculously dense. The gradient on my thumb is <1 coat. I tried to wipe off most of the glitter on the brush before applying it at all. I think with 2 (maybe 3?) coats this polish would be completely opaque on its own…you would just never be able to take it off with all the glitter :-p.

IMG_6921

IMG_6934

For all of the gradients, I applied a thin line of polish at the tip (or base) of my nails, and just dragged a bit to make the gradient. I went back over the tips with a very thin smattering of polish to make the gradient a bit more pronounced. This is the easiest glitter gradient I have ever done. I ended up with 3 stars, but they are all buried under the other polish (yay)…two on my pointer and one on my thumb.

IMG_6906

IMG_6938

This manicure was inspired by a quote on the  back of a bench at the beach I went to as a child (yes, I know that is weird)…”Look for me where sand meets sea.” So, we have sand (Zoya – Tomoko) and sea (Maybelline – Shocking Seas). I also had to freehand some textured starfish just because (Julie G – Tangerine Dream and Sugar Rush).

IMG_3700

Ok, that was a lot of text. Sorry. I’m just happy to have a beach themed mani when its 25 degrees out 🙂 Hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Sandy Shores" (23)

  1. LOVE!!!! I’m a sucker for beach themes. And, I own this polish too! Your design is great!

  2. OMG. I love this mani. It looks like seashells washed up on the beach.

  3. Oh my god you’ve got a beach on your nails. I LOVE THIS!

  4. That looks so awesome!

  5. I love this! Makes me wish the warm weather would hurry up already! 🙂

  6. ❤ Ah this look soo good, those little starfish are adorable hehe

  7. Awesome..So pretty..love this Nail design!!

  8. Absolutely stunning! I love the little star fish addition too. And that polish – that’s one coat?! Crazy impressive!

    • I KNOW! Its super dense (and yet somehow still reasonable to work with?) I would dread doing a full mani with it, for removal purposes!

  9. It really does look like tidepools and the beach, even with a seastar! Great job. 😀

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

