Creative musings in bright colors

Plum Tuckered Gold

What could be better than purple, gold, and flowers? Nothing! …Unless you really can’t paint flowers, and I can’t paint flowers.

IMG_6798

I saw this really intriguing pin on pinterest and traced it back to miawrrr, of blue polish with gold glitter painted over with flowers. I decided to try it myself, but I made a fatal error: I tried one-stroke.

IMG_6813

The base polish here is Plum Tuckered Out by KBShimmer. It is a beautiful deep eggplant purple with deep blue and magenta glitter hidden in the jelly base. I wasn’t quite prepared for how thin this polish is (it really is a jelly) and it required 3 rather thick coats to be opaque. That being said, this polish is gorgeous! I love the deep hidden glitter, and I’m a sucker for purple polish anyway.

IMG_6772

I knew I wanted to try one-stroke calla lilies, similar to what I had seen on Lucy’s Stash a few months ago. But I also knew that I didn’t want to try to paint 5 of them, so on my non accent nails I just went heavier with the glitter! I really like the gold glitter over the purple base. A small part of me wishes I had just left them like this!

IMG_6793

The lilies…well…right. I tried for white and pink, using only polish. I really need to acquire myself some acrylics and a better paint brush (I did these with my clean-up brush). These are a total failure. I can fake one-stroke well enough, I think I’ll just stick to that from now on rather than trying the real thing. *Shrug*

IMG_6799

Colors

  • Purple: KBShimmer – Plum Tuckered Out
  • White: Zoya – Purity
  • Pink: Sinful Colors – Pink Forever
  • White glitter: OPI – Ski Slope Sweetie (it’s on the leaves of the lilies)

IMG_6777

I hope you enjoyed, even if my foray into one-stroke didn’t work! If you want to buy yourself some gold (and other) glitter, check it out at the Born Pretty Store! Don’t forget to use my 10% discount code, LY5X31.

Comments on: "Plum Tuckered Gold" (4)

  1. I know your pain! I’m still gonna keep trying to master one-stroke though, at least for now. Your glitter placement is seriously awesome, though!

    • I KNOW! I was super proud. But yah…one stroke and I are just not seeing eye to eye right now. Maybe in the eventual future when I get acrylic paint I’ll try again.

      • Wait you tried one-stroke with POLISH? Color me impressed! I have only tried with acrylic paint. hmm, maybe I should try with polish and see what happens- it would certainly afford me a wider range of colors!

      • noo i recommend not trying! Well, ok, unless you have skills. Because I have no skills with one-stroke and it really did not work with polish (see photos)

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

