Creative musings in bright colors

Tawdy Tiger

A while ago I did some pretty cool tiger nails and some pretty awful snow leopard nails. Both of them were inspired by Lacquerish and her magnetic tiger manicure. Last time I tried this, I did not have the right type of polish at all, and did not completely read her instructions.

IMG_7194

Turns out, the key is LAYERING magnetic polish! So, when I saw Rite Aid having a sale on Sally Hansen magnetic polish, I snatched up Kinetic Copper, just to try this manicure! Turns out it is not as translucent as her gold topper, but it does look awesome.

IMG_3841

On all my nails except my ring finger, I started with one coat of Nails Inc Trafalgar Square (a silver-grey magnetic polish) before adding Kinetic Copper. My ring finger just got two coats of Copper. I was hoping to see more of the black from Trafalgar peeking through (as it did when I tested it on paper) but that didn’t happen. I can’t tell the nails apart! Although both do look awesome. This was using the magnet that came with Kinetic Copper. As with most metallics, this polish dried quickly.

IMG_7151

IMG_3840

I then went ahead and stamped over the dried polish (yes, this time I waited for it to dry completely) with bundle monster plate 223. And voila, awesomeness!

IMG_7198

I think this manicure justifies spending $2 on Kinetic Copper :-D. Now I just need to make a magnetic gradient, a-la Dressed Up Digits!

IMG_7192

Hope you enjoyed 😀

Comments on: "Tawdy Tiger" (18)

  1. this looks so great on you! i wanna try this! i love magnetics 🙂

  2. Looks amazing! I’ve never tried a magnetic polish before, but I really should get one sometime!

  3. This is gorgeous!

  4. mustlovenails said:

    Hey, I just nominated you for the versatile blogger award 🙂 http://mustlovenails.wordpress.com/2014/02/27/the-versatile-blogger-award/

  5. Soooooo pretty! I love it!

  6. These look incredible! I don’t normally go for animal prints but I may have to try this.

    • i agree! i usually am just not a fan of animal prints. you’ll notice i’ve NEVER done a conventional leopard print. Just not my thing. but I was ok with this one :-p

  7. This is SO PRETTY! It’s like a tiger print over a tiger’s eye effect hehe

  8. So pretty so shiny

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

