Creative musings in bright colors

Pastel Quilts

Today’s Golden Oldies Thursday challenge calls for a skittle manicure. I debated doing all different things, but settled for the same thing in different colors! It is finally spring, and so time for some pastels. And I have been DYING to try a quilted mani! Moreover, some glitter studs I had ordered finally came in, so now I get to pair EVERYTHING with rhinestones 😀

IMG_3999

From what I can tell (via the internet) there are two main ways to make a quilted mani. You can use striping tape, or you can use floss. I tried striping tape because I am more familiar with it…and next time (hopefully there will be a next time) I will try floss.

IMG_7616

This manicure had three steps:

  1. Add a pastel color of your choice to your nails
  2. Add a slightly shimmery clear color on top, to create some distinction between your first color and your second. Ideally, this polish slightly lightens the base color. Also add top coat to speed up drying time.
  3. Place striping tape on perpendicular diagonals across your nail, and add a thick layer of your starting polish. Quickly peel off the striping tape, revealing the quilt. Add rhinestones if desired. DO NOT TOP COAT to keep the texture!

IMG_7620

Unfortunately, this manicure takes a while to dry (since there is no top coat on the last layer and it is a thick layer) but it was totally worth it! How cute is this?! Ok, so I’m biased. The worst part? I had forgotten I owned that pretty mint green! I guess that is the point of the GOT challenge, remember forgotten polishes.

IMG_3996

Colors

  • Pink: NYC – Prospect Park Bloom
  • Purple: Sally Hansen – Lacey Lilac
  • Blue: Sally Hansen – Breezy Blue
  • Mint: Maybelline – Green With Envy
  • Yellow: Serum No5 – Dayglow (yes, my nail was awesome and glowy)
  • Shimmer: Revlon – Allure

That’s it for today! I hope you enjoyed these!

Comments on: "Pastel Quilts" (10)

  1. I love this! I have also been meaning to try a quilted mani! Will definitely have a go now, these are awesome 🙂

  2. jsarina said:

    Oh, this is a beautiful mani! I wish I could get my striping tape as even as you do.

  3. Gorgeous! You’re right I’ll have to try it with striping tape and I’ll be coming back to this post for your super clear instructions. X

  4. Niiiice. Those are great, and so nice and springy, too. 🙂

  5. This is gorgeous – and so precise! I hadn’t thought to add a shimmery layer on top. I think that really makes the quilting pop in your pix.

    • thanks! most of my favorite quilted manis had used a lighter and a darker color that were very close…i don’t really have anything lighter than what i was wearing so I decided to improvise 🙂

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

