Creative musings in bright colors

Soldier On

When I received Soldier* (Rainbow Honey) from Femme Fatale to review, I wasn’t quite sure what to do with it. Most swatches I had seen were over a shade of grey, but that didn’t quite seem to highlight the blue/purple shimmer, and the two awesomely different shades of glitter. So, I layered it over dark blue, and tried it on its own.

IMG_3932

Word to the wise: using Soldier on its own might lead to overwhelming shininess and death from glitter removal. I recommend (strongly) using a peel-off base coat if you are going to try this! I needed 4 coats of Soldier to achieve complete coverage, but MAN was it worth it! I don’t think I have ever seen more concentrated glitter. I feel like I am wearing chain mail on my nail!!! Just stunning.

IMG_7428

IMG_7439

All other nails are one coat of Soldier over Shocking Seas by Maybelline. You get a lot of glitter on every brush stroke! The polish is a bit thick, but as soon as it hits the nail it evens out…you just end up with a big clump of glitter on the brush before you get it all off! The glitter lies flush with the nail, I only needed one coat of top coat to make everything smooth and shiny.

IMG_7490

Soldier has three things going on: silver glitter (big and small), pewter glitter (small), and blue/purple shimmer. As mentioned, you get great glitter payoff in just one layer, but you will need 4 to be opaque. Remarkably, the glitter did not clump when I applied it over itself! Win.

IMG_7494

I went ahead and added some nail art, because that is what I do. I wanted to create a border around the Soldier-only nail, and fill that in with a broken glass pattern. The other nails I just bordered and then added one additional line on a random side. My thumb mirrored my accent nail.

IMG_7482

Overall, I am really really pleased with this polish! I can’t wait to find some other way to play with it :-). You can buy Soldier by Rainbow Honey at the Femme Fatale shop for $11.85. Enjoy!

*Polish sent for review. All opinions are my own.

Comments on: "Soldier On" (4)

  1. Totally loving that ring finger.

  2. These look amazing, especially the thumb!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

