Creative musings in bright colors

All Strung Out

Every swatch I saw of Strung Out by KBShimmer was 2-3 coats of the glitter-filled black jelly. And every swatch looked lumpy. This was despite KBShimmer recommending 1-2 coats over black! So I went ahead and made a manicure with only black polish and Strung Out.

IMG_7468

Most of my nails are one coat of black creme (Sinful Colors – Black on Black) and then one coat of Strung Out. The best way to apply this is dip the brush into the bottle, and just blob the polish at the middle/tip of your nail. Then dab and spread what you have in your blob all over your nail. Believe me, there will be PLENTY of glitters! I ended up having to push the polish around for a few minutes until I was pleased with my glitter spread, but this all just came out from one blob.

IMG_7444

Strung Out has large and small circle glitters in red, blue, silver (holographic), and green (also holographic). There are also tiny glitters, mostly in red. This is a party in a bottle! As it turns out I also have a dress that would match this PERFECTLY so I know what is happening next time I pull out that dress! Wheeee.

IMG_3941

For my accent nail, I started with two coats of black creme, and then one thin coat of Strung Out without all the glitter (I wiped all the glitter off and just left the tiny sparkles to make the nail a bit more interesting. It was hard to get the glitter off!). I also pulled out two of each large circle glitter and dried them off in a paper towel, to get the black jelly polish off. I added a color-coordinated bit of striping tape and placed each glitter piece at the end, to create a belted appearance. It was pretty cool!

IMG_7450

IMG_3946

This polish needed two coats of top coat to be smooth, but I’m happy with it. Since it goes over a colored base, I had less worry about visible nail line and all that jazz. I like! I hope you like too 🙂

Comments on: "All Strung Out" (6)

  1. Super cute! I love that polish, but I think the problem with it is some of the round glitter is so large, it doesn’t sit well on people with more curvy nails. Yours are a bit flatter, so that probably helps combat the lumpy.

    • Haha! My thumbs are flat, but my ring and pointer nails are unfortunately curvy. I have trouble with some glitter polish as a result. In this particular polish, the circle glitter is actually NOT that large, so it does sit flat. Other glitters…not so much

  2. stunning! love what you did with the stripoing tape matches the glitter pieces

  3. That polish is so pretty! And I love what you did with the accent nail 😀

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

