Creative musings in bright colors

Elven Cloak

When I first completed this manicure, I was unhappy. It didn’t look like how I intended. My boyfriend informed me that it looked like an elven forest design from Lord of the Rings and I was instantly cheered up! (He keeps either helping or hurting my opinion of my nails. This is normal, right? :-p)

IMG_7924

I had not yet swatched Green Diamond from Darling Diva, so I decided to center this manicure around her. I As with all other Darling Diva diamond collection holos, this polish took two coats but I could have gotten away with one. This polish is a beautiful medium green with a holographic flare! I am a sucker for green polishes, so this one was a hit with me. It dries to a stain finish, so if you want shiny you need to add top coat!

IMG_7879

IMG_4203

The design is based off a stamp combo from Sarap898 (I don’t have instagram so I can’t just link to her design. I feel bad, but for now I refuse to get instagram!). I actually tried to copy her accent nail tool, but Green Diamond dries so fast that it will not stamp. Yes, I tried. So I just free-handed the design! The other polish used here is the wonderful Saint George by A England with a stamp from BM 225.

IMG_4195

Since both of these greens are holos, this mani came to light in the sun! Both green AND glittery. Go nail polish! 🙂

IMG_7922

Hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Elven Cloak" (7)

  1. I really like green too. And this design is gorgeous.
    I’m just not sure, I have like few awesome greens but they stain. Doesn’t matter how many or which base coat layers I do or if I top them on another colours. I have managed to lighten the stains but so far nothing really seems to work unless I just buff off the yellow hue that stays. So I kind of tend to keep away from greens 😦

    • so sad! I love greens. Most of mine don’t stain…especially the cremes are fine. But then again, most of my green cremes are cheap (sinful colors)

      • One from Barry M stains (and it’s a jelly), a lovely mint green and one from China Glaze too, it’s called Entourage. Some cheaper ones that I have don’t stain though 😀 So I’m always scared to get a new one, cause some that stain for others don’t on me and vice versa.

  2. Oh I LOVE it! It’s gorgeously Springy, and yes, very Tree of Gondor!

    • 😀 thank you! I had a friend comment (on fb) if I meant “Tolkien elves or santa elves”? and I’m really glad you got it!!!

  3. Wow, love this! Green is one of my favourite colours 🙂

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

