Creative musings in bright colors

Modern Musings

Sometimes polishes that look identical in the bottle do NOT look the same on the nail! Today’s art is the story of two similar polishes that shine differently. Both are “black” holos…yet neither is black!

IMG_4215

Honestly, I have wanted a REAL black linear holo for a while. I don’t think I will ever find it. However, both Fated Prince by A England and Black Diamond by Darling Diva appeared very close to black, and both were linear holo polishes! So, I decided to pair them with two random colors that looked good, light purple (Royalty Reinvented by L’Oreal) and teal (I Need A Refresh Mint by Wet n’ Wild).

Both “black” polishes are grey. They are darn similar in the bottle:

IMG_7885

But are NOT similar on the nail! Fated Prince is a very dark grey polish with fine scattered holo particles. Unlike my other 3 A England polishes which only need one coat, Fated Prince required two. It dries to a nice shiny finish. It was incredibly easy to control and dried quickly, but (as you can see on my thumb) is not as great for stamping as the other holos from A England. Black Diamond is a medium grey polish with a scattered holo effect, that dries to a satin finish. I used two coats but could have gotten away with one. This polish dries incredibly fast.

IMG_7895

I think the holo effect in the two polishes is similar. They both look silvery in normal lighting and have a true rainbow of colors in sunlight. I stamped over them with BM 207, a weird stamp that I had been wanting to try just to see what would happen! I liked it, but wanted a bit more of a color contrast so I added the teal dots.

IMG_7931

IMG_4088

On my thumb, I started with a purple base. I then painted a thin layer of Fated Prince followed by Black Diamond onto the stamping plate and tried to transfer it. It worked! Which is to say that Fated Prince is dark enough to be visible because it is being primed against the more opaque Black Diamond. Pretty cool!

IMG_7934

These two holos make me want to do a greyscale holo ombre. I’ll have to put one together! I think overall that I like the color of Fated Prince better (I do prefer dark colors), but the ease of application and drying time of Black Diamond just cannot be beat. What do you think? And was anyone else shocked at how different they look on the nail?

Comments on: "Modern Musings" (16)

  1. I like the matted look.

  2. I have 2 reds like that, buut I haven’t tested them side by side on my fingernails. They do look totally different on toes, but then again, a lot of polishes look totally different on toes :P.

    As for the mani, gorgeous and the stamp looks interesting.

  3. Have you tried Color Club Beyond? It’s still not entirely black, but it is extremely dark (darker than Fated Prince) and extremely holo. I love the stamping with the dots in this mani!

  4. The color difference adds more depth…I love the entire look!

  5. Oh wow! Those turned out lovely!

  6. I love this design! It looks great!

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

