Creative musings in bright colors

A few weeks ago, Cult Nails had an impressive sale: their polishes, which are usually $12 apiece, were on sale for $3. Not only that, if you spent <$24 (two normal price polishes), you got $12 off. I gamed the system and picked up 4 $3 polishes and 1 $12 polish for a total of $12 ($17 with shipping). 5 polishes for $17? Yes!

Cult

4 of the colors I chose are discontinued (hence the sale), but you can still find most of them at Llawowe and other suppliers. Without further ado, my induction into the Cult…

First up we have my favorite, In A Trance. Apparently “military green” was in style a year ago, and I missed it! I am a sucker for green polish, and this particular polish is a beautifully murky greenish brown with subtle gold shimmer. Shown here is two thin coats, no top coat. As this was my first experience with Cult Nails, I will also say that I was pleasantly surprised that the polish was very opaque, had a nice circular brush (bristles on the small side, which I like), and self leveled like a pro.

IMG_8180

IMG_8187

Next up is Oy Poppy!, a dark orange crelly. I had assumed this polish was a creme, but I should have known! Oy Poppy! is intensely shinny, due to the jelly-like nature of the polish. It was easy to control, but needed 3-4 coats to cover my nail line (3 if I being careful). It did dry quickly, and was also self-leveling. It is such an interesting color…an orange that is almost a red.

IMG_8503

IMG_8508

Disillusion is a strange beast, and is the only polish you can still purchase from Cult Nails (I bought it at full price). It has hot pink shards suspended in a black jelly. I have never seen anything like it! Although I could have done 3-4 coats for full opacity, I chose to layer 2 very thin coats (to allow the pink to shine through) over a black creme. I got the glitters to spread by adding a blob of polish in the middle of my nail and pulling away from it. There were a few pieces (maybe 3?) that really stuck out (as shards will do), so I pulled them off my nails with tweezers and just kept going. I needed 2 coats of top coat to make this polish smooth, but it looked really cool when I was done! Removal was somewhere between a creme and a glitter…not as bad as most glitters, but not a cake walk either. Overall, I really do like this polish, but it has a few application issues.

IMG_8434

IMG_8427

The last two polishes I picked up are both glitter bombs. This one is Walk of Shame, a dense collection of gold hexes and small holographic circles. I chose to layer it over Chiq Reloaded by Essence, so the dark grey would bring out the holographic glitter! Although the gold hexes look like they bend, they do not. I only needed one coat of top coat to make this all smooth! What is more, what you see here is just one coat of Walk of Shame. It went on very easily!

IMG_8211

IMG_8204

The last polish I have for you today is Center of Attention. This is Walk of Shame’s pink sister. It has large and small pink hexes (which again do lie flat on the nail) and small golden holographic glitters. Shown here is two thin coats over a deep red creme (Happy Wine-y People by Station). This is a slightly less in-your-face glitter, although it still sparked quite a bit!

IMG_8350

IMG_8356

IMG_8358

Overall, I like Cult Nails. I think Disillusion would have been a bit better in a lighter base, but other than that, I had no trouble with any of the polishes. My favorite (as I mentioned) was In A Trance, but that is just a color preference! All of them were fun to wear, and I’m glad I was able to add to my collection of glitter toppers! If you want to pick yourself up some Cult polish, please use this link, it will give you the same $12 off $24 for your purchase that I got! And stay tuned the rest of this week, as I show off each of these 5 polishes with some nail art!

Comments on: "Swatching Sunday: Cult Nails" (4)

  1. That was an awesome deal! I’ve never tried Cult. Someday!
    i like the name Oy Poppy 🙂 and that green is niiice.

    • I kept seeing people I respected raving about the polish, so I had to try it (especially with that deal!) The cremes are spectacular. Especially the green 😀

  2. […] some polish from Cult Nails). If you want to see swatches of my 5 acquisitions, head over to this post. The rest of this week will just feature nail art with the polishes! And today’s polish […]

  3. […] #6: Cult Nails – In a Trance […]

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

