Creative musings in bright colors

Every now and then, I need to remind myself that I can actually do fine detail work. A friend of mine challenged me to do pysanky, or hungarian easter eggs, on my nails…so I did. This manicure took 2 hours to complete, and I have to say I am proud! I am also submitting these to Nail Polish Canada’s easter challenge, so please go vote for them!

IMG_8735

I started by looking for photos of pysanky that I liked. Here, you can see two that I ended up going with (they are circled). The others I free-handed or based loosely off internet designs.

many eggs

black egg

So far, people seem to like the design on my ring finger (blue/black) or pointer (brown/yellow) the best. Which is your favorite, reader? And do you think this was worth two hours of my life? 😀

IMG_4475

Unfortunately, Lucy of Lucy’s Stash already submitted some similar egg-themed art for the challenge, so I doubt I’ll win (she really is better than me at detail work, and woah her nail length! So jealous!), but it would be great if I could get at least a few votes. You just have to select “flightofwhimsy” from the pulldown menu.

IMG_8734

IMG_8715

Colors

  • Orange: Zoya – Thandie
  • Red: Pure Ice – Siren
  • Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
  • Blue: Zoya – Yummy
  • Brown: Zoya – Louise
  • White: Zoya – Purity
  • Top coat: Glisten & Glow – HK Girl

IMG_4473

I tried to limit myself to just a few colors. It mostly worked! Stay tuned for more spring/easter nail art, I have a quite a few looks to show you guys!

Comments on: "Pysanky – Hungarian Easter Eggs" (24)

  1. Wow that is beautiful!

  2. Beautifully intricate!

  3. words cannot express! i love dem!!!!!!! good luck, girl!

  4. oh and of course i voted for you ! like duh

    • jacqui, you are awesome, why are you not in this one?

      • I dunno!! I guess I’m not feeling easter-y or something! I did some tiny easter eggs on my nails last nite for the linkup. Prob post them later 🙂 They kinda suck though LOL

      • awwww! i did some extra (more traditional) eggs for a KBShimmer competition that will go up later this week. I keep forgetting to try and do stuff for you guys’ linkup. I should work on that!

  5. thebubblybrunette said:

    Absolutely stunning designs!

  6. They are beautiful! I’m sure you’ll get a lot of votes 🙂

  7. Beautiful and extremely well done! Spot on for Easter!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

