Creative musings in bright colors

Brown Sugar and Faye

A few weeks back, I picked up two new butterLONDON polishes at the ULTA 21 Days of Beauty sale. Now, I love me some butterLONDON, but I do not love them at $15 apiece! However, I will pay $15 for two :-). One of the two I grabbed was my longest ever lemming (coming soon), and the other was Brown Sugar. I obsessed for at least 30 minutes between this polish and two others, but in the end I am glad I went with it!

IMG_8639

My biggest fear was that Brown Sugar would be a dupe for Faye by Zoya. In ULTA, I kept holding them up to compare, so I decided the first thing I had to when I played with the polish was to do a swatch comparison! My ring finger has two coats of Faye, while all other nails have two coats of Brown Sugar.

IMG_8596

IMG_8601

Brown Sugar is a complicated polish. Copper and gold sparkles with larger light and medium pink glitter suspended in a deep purple base with red tints. Perfect control on the brush, and two coats for perfection. It dries slightly gritty. In contrast, Faye is a golden sparkle polish with a hint of copper in a light purple (almost lilac) base that leans pink. Despite the purple base and gold glitter, the two polishes are remarkably different on the nail! Brown Sugar is much darker and richer, and the pink glitter adds addition depth. Faye is more light, almost fairy-like. I love them both!

IMG_4357

For the art aspect, I tried to add a banner with pink and brown across the top of my nails. While it looks fine, it isn’t anything to write home about. That being said, I love the polish and this art let me see a lot of it!

Colors

  • Copper glitter: butterLONDON – Brown Sugar
  • Gold glitter: Zoya – Faye
  • Pink: Sinful Colors – Pink Forever
  • Brown: Zoya – Louise

IMG_4381

Did you pick up any butterLONDONs from the ULTA sale? Anything I need to try?

Comments on: "Brown Sugar and Faye" (1)

  1. ClaireNPA said:

    Hello Eva !

    Do you know that in France we find the BL at the $21.95, identical price in the four french small on-line shops ?
    That there is never promotional offer or sales, in best 10 % when one of the shops does not really manage to sell a reference.
    Useless to say to you that I have none of them.
    By the newsletter of one of the e-shops, we have just learnt that BL changed its distribution’s policy in France.
    From now on BL will not furnish any more these 4 on-line shops, but will operate its distribution by Nocibé who is the main competitor of Sephora in France.
    There should have been a bloody battle between both there because it’s Sephora which distributes BL in the USA.
    In France Sephora is expensive for everything. To give you an example, they have just launched a couple of weeks ago, Formula X. Price of a basic color : $17.80 in France for $10.50. No comment.
    As Nocibé is even more expensive than Sephora (that works, why would they lower their prices?), I look forward to knowing to which price Nocibé be going to sell the BL.
    A little bit long comment, but I find so fascinating to know what takes place in the field of the nail polish worldwide that what is made in nail art somewhere else that at home.

    Amitiés,
    Claire

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

